Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Will try suggestions of other reviewers re: slicing in 1/2" slices. Some didn't like the mushiness but all enjoyed the topping. My butter was room temperature so the topping was more pasty than crumbly so had to spread it on but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made this for the first time on Christmas day. It was amazing. I prepared it all on the same morning with a loaf of day old French bread. Only changes I made were to use maple syrup instead of corn syrup, 1/2 c. OJ, and reduce the sugar slightly. Let it refrigerate for one hour and baked 30 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delicious exactly as written. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made this for visiting guests. Just prepped it the morning of and let it sit 1 hour before putting in the oven and came out great. Not too sweet...tripled the pecans because I love them, and it was perfect. Gone in minutes with people going in for seconds and thirds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobbycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Absolutely a hit. I am going to use orange extract next time instead of vanilla. I would like more of an orange flavor. Very easy to assemble and cook. Great for a crowd or for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I loved the idea of a "different" french toast. It was simple to make and the idea was right on, but IMO it was a bit to sweet for me and my family and I really would have liked a bit more of the orange taste to come out...it was just a squeak of a taste here and there. Overall I liked, but with a few mods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was a great company breakfast and didn't require as much time in the kitchen as some other baked french toasts. The only negative is that it was very sweet. In the future I would cut back on the brown suger, or add more bread and milk mixtute to balance it out. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rider Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish. The rolls (they look like carmel pecan rolls when you're done) are very rich, very sweet, but very very good. It would be perfect for a brunch since it's really easy to prepare ahead and pop in the over 30 minutes before you're ready to serve. 1/2 c of chopped pecans didn't seem like nearly enough. I doubled that. Be sure to use good robust bakery bread, sliced thick like it says. Excellent overall and when you flip them over onto a platter they present beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Super yummy. Just takes some time to prepare. Have to plan ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
A southern specialty! Glad to see someone else out there appreciates our traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States