Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Okay so I have to say I WAS QUITE DISAPPOINTED with this recipe. After searching and searching allrecipes.com and reading most of the reviews, I thought for sure this would be an excellent french toast recipe for Christmas brunch. Boy was I sadly mistaken. It really was nothing special. I follow most users reviews in that I added the extra eggs and orange zest and also cutting the bread an inch thick. I let the dish sit overnight and by the time we baked it and ate it, the egg mixture had only soaked down to barely the top portion EVEN AFTER I pressed on the bread while pouring the egg mixture onto it. The pecan topping was ANOTHER DISAPPOINTMENT. It was sweet with a hint of orange something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Casteel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. It is incredible! Very rich and very, very sweet with a heavenly aroma of oranges and cinnamon. Next time I will cut back on the sugar as it was a bit too decadent. But we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have tried this recipe many time, with great success. I was just wondering if I could substitute Pillsbury cinnamon rolls, instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barney Rooney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and doubled it for a larger group. The cooking time remained the same of about 35 minutes. It was super easy to prepare. I prepped it the night before, used 1.5 French baguettes, which soaked up all the liquid by morning. Let it sit out as directed for 20 minutes than baked it. The I flipped it over as I served the guests with the sticky gooey yummy side up. Everyone loved it! I'll definitely make it again when I'm hosting a large group for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Tastes great. Needs more pecans per my tastes. Doubled the amount called for and could still use a few more. If you like pecan pie, then you'll want to add extra pecans. Otherwise, it's just a sprinkling of nuts as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I liked the bits of orange peel in this, but it does need to be grated fine. The spice of it was just right. This is a nice offering for any brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Amazing! Everyone loved it! I flipped it over after baking, onto another pan. Recipe doesn't say to do this, but pictures show it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Such a great recipe! I edited it a little bit. For those who are wondering about putting the brown sugar mixture on the bottom, this is what I did. First off, I used 4 eggs, 3/4 cup oj, 1/2 cup milk, and 1/4 cup half and half. I then added the cinnamon and vanilla as well as a bit of nutmeg and allspice and the zest of an entire orange. I didn't use any white sugar. I then placed the bread in the pan and poured the mixture over the bread and let it sit overnight in the fridge. In the morning, before placing it in the oven, I mixed half a cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup melted butter, 2 tbsp maple syrup, and 1/3 cup chopped pecans. I then spread this mixture over the top of each slice of bread and then put it in the oven for 45 min. It made a delicious brown sugar crust and tasted heavenly. Nothing stuck to the bottom and everyone loved it. Just a thought for those that worry about it sticking to the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is a very good, very easy recipe. It is also very sweet. I'll try it again with less sugar next time. I used French bread, cream instead of milk, the zest and the juice of two oranges, and four whole eggs, because that's what I had on hand. All in all, a great, simple recipe if you're wanting a sweet dish in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was disappointed. Much of the carmelized sugar stuck on the bottom of the pan. What I did lift up was really sticky and chewy. I also did not taste orange at all. I did not have thick bread so used two thinner slices. I might try it again but put the sugar/butter/pecan between the slices. Then I'd make an orange syrup to pour on top when serving. The taste was OK just not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariap430

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States