Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I did not taste any orange in this AT ALL. I didn't goof up; I followed the recipe to the letter. It was just a nice tasting bread, no orange flavor whatsoever. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
These muffins were super yummy! I did change the recipe alittle just to bring out the orange flavor. I put 1 cup of orange juice instead and added 1/2 a cup more of sugar. I also added 1 cup of pecans. Put in the zest of 1 whole orange plus the juice of that orange. They were very moist. I think maybe in the future i will figure out a frosting that will work great with these. The whole family loved them! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kierra_rodet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Extremely tasty, though I did change a few things (I nearly never follow the recipe exactly): 2c flour->1c white bread flour and 1c whole wheat flour. 3t baking powder->2t baking powder. 1/2t salt->1/4t salt. 3/4c orange juice-> 1/2c fresh squeezed o.j. 1/3c vegetable oil->1T vegetable oil. 1T orange zest-> 1 1/2T orange zest. I also added 1/4c brown sugar, 1/2t baking soda, 1/3c plain nonfat yogurt. I tested this out and it was delicious, though with the rest of the batch I added two cups of diced rhubarb and wow did they turn out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Ok the recipe was good because it was really easy and quick to make. I liked the muffins. They werent dry. I didnt add orange zest and I used fresh orange juice. My husband said the flavor was too strong. So i give this recipe three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kw
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I like these muffins a lot. I baked my first batch for 20 minutes and they came out a little too dark. 17 minutes was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
These weren't really muffins at all, as they were rather dry. I agree with the person who stated that they were more like biscuits. They were, unfortunately, also pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My roommates preferred to call these biscuits instead of muffins. Not at all soft or moist. Definitely not enough orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I was afraid these muffins would not be orangie enough for me so I changed 2 things. I used 1/3 cup of orange juice concentrate and 1/4 cup of all fruit orange marmalade. It was wonderful. My family raved and raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Its a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I varied my recipe based on the other additions / deletions as follows. Replaced sugar with 2/3 cup of splenda (sugar substitute). Also, always substitue butter or oil in EVERY muffin recipe and subsituted with whatever low fat yoghurt I have in the fridge (in this case it was mango/peach. Additions were 1/2 cup of cranberries and /2 cup of walnuts & 1 tsp of vanilla. I made this recipe twice and changed my cranberries/walnuts to 1/2 cup of dark choc. chips and 1/2 cup of dessicated coconut and sprinkled extra on top of each muffin. Great basic recipe. Sometimes I don't bother with plain flour & baking powder and use self raising flour which has both ingredients in one. Of course I will make these again, they look great, taste great too! (sounds like an ad, oh well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States