Orange Meltaway Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made these using twice the amount of orange exract called for and it was delicious! I baked for 8-10 minutes. Any more than that and they can burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lacee101
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
crispy outside, and soft flaky center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacee101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
These are okay but rather forgettable. They won't be the first to disappear from your cookie tray and no one will be still talking about them 6 months later. They're basically a butter/sugar cookie, certainly not the best I've ever had, not quite sweet enough with a mildly mild citrus flavor (I made a lime variation), that are basically short on flavor - citrus, butter or otherwise - and I even used a tad more extract. I think a little salt and vanilla would have done wonders to make the flavors come alive - or maybe a glaze made of powdered sugar and juice. They're a very plain looking cookie too, which I could live with if the cookie itself was knock-out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I did not sift the sugar, so that may be why my cookies came out rather crumbly. I also added some orange juice in place of orange zest. I really like the flavor of these cookies--citrus-y and not too sweet. With other modifications, perhaps, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohagal287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and I have to say I wasn't wowed. These make decent butter cookies, but not very orangey. I would add more orange extract next time. They are really simple to make, going together really quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
As others suggested, I double the orange extract to 2 t and also went a bit heavy on the grated orange zest. The cookies have a good flavor and are a nice break from the "old standards" cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Made this for Christmas. Easy to make and soft, but I would have preferred a more orangey taste. I'm going to try it with more orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
excellent little cookies! were loved by all. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States