Orange Meltaway Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made these using twice the amount of orange exract called for and it was delicious! I baked for 8-10 minutes. Any more than that and they can burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
excellent little cookies! were loved by all. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
As others suggested, I double the orange extract to 2 t and also went a bit heavy on the grated orange zest. The cookies have a good flavor and are a nice break from the "old standards" cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I did not sift the sugar, so that may be why my cookies came out rather crumbly. I also added some orange juice in place of orange zest. I really like the flavor of these cookies--citrus-y and not too sweet. With other modifications, perhaps, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohagal287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lacee101
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
crispy outside, and soft flaky center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacee101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Made this for Christmas. Easy to make and soft, but I would have preferred a more orangey taste. I'm going to try it with more orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
These are okay but rather forgettable. They won't be the first to disappear from your cookie tray and no one will be still talking about them 6 months later. They're basically a butter/sugar cookie, certainly not the best I've ever had, not quite sweet enough with a mildly mild citrus flavor (I made a lime variation), that are basically short on flavor - citrus, butter or otherwise - and I even used a tad more extract. I think a little salt and vanilla would have done wonders to make the flavors come alive - or maybe a glaze made of powdered sugar and juice. They're a very plain looking cookie too, which I could live with if the cookie itself was knock-out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and I have to say I wasn't wowed. These make decent butter cookies, but not very orangey. I would add more orange extract next time. They are really simple to make, going together really quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States