Orange Marmalade Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I liked the cake. A few comments: 1. I added more marmalade, closer to a cup, and the cake was quite moist- was careful not to overbake 2. I thought it was quite sweet, maybe less sugar or a less sweet marmalade would be better 3. I would decrease the amount of butter, will try again with less Overall a keeper! Love the spicy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
loved it will make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
After reading the comments, I doubled the recipe, added orange juice instead of lemon as well as some orange zest and a dash of orange extract, made two square cakes stacked one on top of the other with a thin layer of orange marmalade in between and topped with the simple orange glaze recipe from this website. As most poster have mentioned, it does need a bit of tweaking, but a good basic recipe that can be modified in many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Excellent Recipe. I used mandarine marmelade and it was so good¡¡¡
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I read the reviews about there not being enough batter, so I cooked these in three 4" springform pans (worked out perfectly) that I recently bought instead of a bundt pan. The texture on this cake is very much like a traditional banana bread, and it is very moist (I made sure not to overcook it). There is next to no orange flavor (and I even added the zest from one orange) except when you bite into a piece of the orange rind from the marmalade. That being said, I would add orange juice rather than lemon juice and maybe even a bit of orange extract. Drizzled an orange-flavored icing over the top and sprinkled with orange zest. Just needs some tweaking, this is a quite good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I doubled the batter as suggested by others, and this does nicely. If you do this, then I would reduce the oven temp to 325 and bake longer. I started the cake out at 350 and within a half an hour noticed that the edges were browning too much. So I reduced the temp. I would like to add that I made this batter per the recipe, and this cake can be quite dry! I had leftover Orange Marmalade from my Christmas gift giving and thought this would be a great recipe to try. Not as sweet as I thought it would be, but if you do attempt this one, a simple syrup poured over the cake could make it a bit less dry. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
tastes more like a spice cake than an orange cake, but tasty none the less. I served with an orange icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
LOVED IT! I made this cake in a 8x8 pan so I could bake it in my toaster oven instead.(trying to save energy) And I substituted the white sugar with splenda granulated sugar and it tastes great. Not a lot of orange flavor but that was ok for me. And the smell was incredible. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is a great recipe for special occasions. I, personally, left out the chopped walnuts because my kids can be picky eaters when it comes to nuts. And I made an orange syprup(1 cup orange juice with 1/4 cup sugar), poked holes in cake and poured over top. Then I iced with a cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Delicous cake, but it stuck to my non-stick Nordic Ware bundt pan even after greasing and flouring. Will make it in a removable rim tube pan next time. The recipe should be increased by 50% to make a decent sized cake. I used a confectioners sugar/lemon juice/orange peel glaze, which complemented it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States