Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I like the idea behind it but it just was so bland I didn't even want to serve it to my family. I needs something more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
good but a tad dry in my opinion. I think next time I will add 1/2 cup of applesauce t make it less dry. either that or more orange juice. about 1/2 cup on that. the orange taste isn't strong so it could take more orange flavor and moisture. I am also not a big orange fan. but still like it. So we liked it enough to try it again. I doubled the recipe. but instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 1/2. The reason for the less sugar was I ran out. I used the equivalent of 3/4c of orange juice or a single cake and put 1/2 c applesauce in it. or a 1/4 for a single cake. I didn't make the glaze the night before because I had no powdered sugar. I made the glaze tonight and this turned out superb and addictive as it can be. It increased the orange taste just enough and moist as can be. fixing to get another plate now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Saylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Yes, I know I have to follow the recipe exactly to review it, but I didn't and it came out 5 stars Here's what I did based on what I had on hand. First of all, I had some "smartie" type oranges, so I took 2 of them and peeled them and then left one peeled. I pulverized these in a Bullet blender along with a 1/2 inch of peeled ginger root. In addition to the flour mixture, I added a full tsp. of ground ginger and a scant 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. I also added a container of Greek yogurt to the wet ingredients. finally, I baked the batter in lined muffin tins and sprinkled the tops with regular sugar (instead of the glaze). Results? AMAZING! A great way to use those little oranges and easier than juicing and zesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I thought this was really yummy. I used juice and zest from some fresh satsumas that I had and I also used butter instead of margarine. Next time I think I won't cook as long because the corners and bottom were almost burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is a delectably tasteful and moist cake - an amazingly refreshing and highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe once and followed the directions and I did add the 2 Tbs of oil that other reviewers mentioned. It was a bit dry. I did bake for 1 hour, next time I start to check it at 45 minutes. No problem with the glaze...loved the flavor it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Great recipe, added some cinnamon and cranberries, family members loved it, will be making again very soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Seriously, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
My friend came over for coffee and she really liked this bread. It was extremely moist, but I think if I made it again, I would add cranberries and not as much of the orange rind. Also, I think I would add a cream cheese frosting to it. I tend to like thinks sweeter, but overall, this bread was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! And super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States