Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
this was okay but i do agree with the majority of the reviews that there is no "wow" factor in the finished product.. it was missing spice or something.. i cut this in half and subbed canola oil for the margarine.. i used half white and half brown sugar.. i zested the entire half of the orange that i juiced and added some pulp as others did.. i also added a tsp of vanilla extract.. i didn't make the glaze b/c the batter tasted plenty sweet to me.. this made 10 smallish muffins.. i know bf will enjoy these at work tomorrow and i'm sure he won't complain but i was hoping for something more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I had a couple of oranges in my fridge for a week and figured it was time to get rid of them, so I made this. I'm glad I did. Instead of baking in a loaf pan, I used muffin tins (they took about 16-18 minutes to cook). I also switched margarine for a butter/shortening mix and added an extra ¼ cup of orange juice. The muffins turned out so good. They're light and fluffy, and have a delicious orange flavor. Personally I'd frost them with an orange buttercream instead of glazing them, but either way they're totally tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nayann68
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I added a 1/4 cup more of the orange juice to the batter. I wanted a good strong orange flavor. The glaze is to thin so I reduced it to a syrup consistency and it was fantastic! So easy to make. I also made one gluten free for my mom and it was actually my favorite. Substituted flour for Bobs Red Mill gluten free bean based flour. Added vanilla and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I just made this and one word DELICIOUS. Its very refreshing and bursting with orange flavor, just the smell alone Oranges !! I used two oranges for the juice that I had on hand, I found I didn't need a half of cup for the glaze I only had about 1/4 cup added a bit of sugar and that was enough. Before I poured the glaze I made sure to poke holes in the bread so it absorbed better. Oh and another thing is I didn't have eggs so I used applesauce in place, came out perfect soft and really moist. I really recommend baking this great to add to anyone's recipe book. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassy28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I like it especially with a cup of milk. just like other reviewers mentioned i added 2 tbsp of veggie oil and cut the sugar for the batter to 1/2 cup, and no one complained about it needing more sugar. For the syrup I added 1tsp of vanilla extract just because i like vanilla flavor, But i dont think it made a huge difference anyway. Its a good recipe. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biankis

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I like the idea behind it but it just was so bland I didn't even want to serve it to my family. I need something more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
good but a tad dry in my opinion. I think next time I will add 1/2 cup of applesauce t make it less dry. either that or more orange juice. about 1/2 cup on that. the orange taste isn't strong so it could take more orange flavor and moisture. I am also not a big orange fan. but still like it. So we liked it enough to try it again. I doubled the recipe. but instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 1/2. The reason for the less sugar was I ran out. I used the equivalent of 3/4c of orange juice or a single cake and put 1/2 c applesauce in it. or a 1/4 for a single cake. I didn't make the glaze the night before because I had no powdered sugar. I made the glaze tonight and this turned out superb and addictive as it can be. It increased the orange taste just enough and moist as can be. fixing to get another plate now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Saylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Yes, I know I have to follow the recipe exactly to review it, but I didn't and it came out 5 stars Here's what I did based on what I had on hand. First of all, I had some "smartie" type oranges, so I took 2 of them and peeled them and then left one peeled. I pulverized these in a Bullet blender along with a 1/2 inch of peeled ginger root. In addition to the flour mixture, I added a full tsp. of ground ginger and a scant 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. I also added a container of Greek yogurt to the wet ingredients. finally, I baked the batter in lined muffin tins and sprinkled the tops with regular sugar (instead of the glaze). Results? AMAZING! A great way to use those little oranges and easier than juicing and zesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I thought this was really yummy. I used juice and zest from some fresh satsumas that I had and I also used butter instead of margarine. Next time I think I won't cook as long because the corners and bottom were almost burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is a delectably tasteful and moist cake - an amazingly refreshing and highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States