Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Made for a group of Chinese friends. They LOVED them...and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very good. The glaze I would actually call a syrup, but I'm glad I didn't skip that step! I skewered the top of the loaves and the glaze went deep down into the loaves, adding a lot of moisture. I do think they would be dry without the glaze. I mention everything in plural, because I doubled the recipe and it turned out great. Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this tonight for dessert. This is really good!!!! My husband loved it. I included the nuts, and the orange zest really made the taste of orange come out strong. Very moist, I baked for exactly 1-hour. Defenately a keeper in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
A lovely twist on a citrus bread. Didn't need the glaze (we don't care for this type bread if it is too sweet) but added more orange rind and a handful of dried cranberries really make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
It's barely the beginning of the fall baking season and I'm already a little weary of the pumpkin, cinnamon, maple and other typical fall baked treats. This was a refreshing break. As this was baking I already decided it was worth it for the aroma alone - SO fragrant of fresh orange. It must have been a combination of the recipe itself, my adding two tablespoons of vegetable oil to ensure a moist cake, and cutting back on the baking time by several minutes that I did not experience the dryness other reviewers reported. This cake is soft, with a dense but tender crumb, very light, buttery (I did use butter rather than the margarine called for) and prominently, pleasantly orange. The term "glaze" in the recipe is misleading, as this is really not a glaze at all. It's actually a flavored simple syrup that soaks into the cake, infusing it with added moisture and flavor and should not be skipped or altered. A delightful change from heavily spiced, heavily frosted or overly sweet treats. Delicious, satisfying and very pretty too. Whether or not the the cake would turn out as good and moist without the 2 T. of oil I added, I'm not sure - what I do know is that if you add it, you won't be sorry. And be careful not to overbake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I've made this bread many times and I think it is super. I always follow the recipe exactly with no complaints as it is written. I think the glaze is supposed to be thin. I pour the hot glaze over the hot loaf and just let it sit in the pan. Eventually the glaze absorbs into the cake, leaving a moist, delicious bread. Im happy with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was a wonderful loaf, very delicious. I followed another reviewers comment and added 1/4 cup oil and reduced the syrup down. I will certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caitjane1
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! This was better than i expected and had a perfect orange taste. I added pecans and wish i could eat the whole thing right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitjane1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coronado, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
not bad... a little dry for me, but the kids liked it a lot. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this to use up some of my many oranges. It was refreshingly different, a good cake with coffee or tea. I did cook the glaze longer than directed to reduce the liquid. **Update, made a light version: Doubled recipe,used one stick of margarine/butter, 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, fresh squeezed oranges with some of the pulp and hand shaved the zest with a knife. Baked in a 9x13 glass pan for 45 min. Didn't change the glaze. Came out wonderfully! It was a hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYPOLLY4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States