Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Thanks for the fantastic recipe for Orange Loaf, Carol~!! I agree that using butter is better for bringing out the orange taste. Besides, I have added an extra of 2T olive oil, as suggested by another reviewer, which made the loaf moistened beautifully. For the "glaze", it really helps to bring an additional orange flavor and helps lighten up the surface of the loaf. Great idea for the glaze!! This recipe will be used in the rest of my life, for SURE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam1128

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tuen Mun, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I likes it, but my husband did'nt care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
The recipe was quick and easy, as advertised, and tasted awesome. I had a lot of really icky oranges I needed to get rid of, and this did the trick. A couple of notes: 1. I live in Colorado Springs, so adding more flour is a must, the center of this bread sank, and it was done about 20 minutes earlier than the recipe called for. I narrowly escaped it being burned. 2. From previous experience, do NOT use white sugar for the glaze. Glazes require powdered sugar in order to make it thick, and it needs A LOT of powdered sugar. I had probably 2 cups of glaze. But this recipe was awesome, and don't be afraid to add more zest than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Glaze tip: Poke holes with a toothpick all over the loaf before drizzling glaze on warm loaf. This will distribute the glaze into the loaf as well as on top. Wrap in foil for 24 hours (or not) to let the flavor drench the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is the third time ive made this, and cant get the top to stay up. Im baking at an elevation of 9000 feet and i've done the usual high altitude stuff like more liquid, higher temp, and less leavening agent. but alas it never rounds off, always sunken in the middle. other than that everyone loves the taste and cant get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elcheftimo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great flavour, however I found it very crumbly compared to other recipes I have made. I will be looking for another Orange Loaf which might be more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this exactly as written and it was delicious! Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilylynn15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is a light tasting quick bread, as opposed to your traditional banana or pumpkin loaf. My teens really liked it. If you are missing a strong orange taste fresh squeeze your oranges for the juice and zest a whole orange. Great flavor. I would bake it next time as 2 smaller loaves because it rose so much the glaze was spilling over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Boring flavour. Needs more zip and zing. Thank goodness I added chocolate chips. Will keep looking for an orange loaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This needed more orange flavor. I added fresh oranges and extra orange zest, still not enough flavor. I was expecting more of a sweet cake, but it was somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States