Orange Juice Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Oh, where do I begin? The chicken was WAY too sweet! If I make this again I will half the OJ and completely omit the brown sugar. I would add chicken broth to make up for the decrease in OJ. I suggest maybe adding some Cayenne pepper and serve it over rice. I think it would make a good asian dish. Not impressed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is a very good recipe. The thing that is missing in the instructions is to actually marinade the chicken in the marinade mixture for several hours before putting the chicken in the oven. For those that complain of dryness, I recommend trying chicken thighs instead of breasts (more flavorful and more moist). Other than that change, follow the recipe and you should have a very nice result. Serve it with rice if you like - the thickened marinade works well with that base. It's a very nice, simple recipe that delivers a bit result in terms of flavor. My guests absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was an Ok dinner quick and easy, a few suggestions , marinate the chicken in the juice for at least an hour , also use a good orange juice like simply orange , i thought the sauce was lacking a depth of flavor, I think it could have been reduced more I used a big pan so I had lots of juice and used cornstarch to thicken , alot of people complained about the flour being clumpy so mix the flour with a little juice first then add next time I will try by adding the juice to a light rue first this may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I was really skeptical about this recipe. I was afraid of the Dijon, thinking it would over power, but it was perfect and blended nicely with the brown sugar and o.j. ( I am no fan of dijon but this worked great) I was also afraid it would be too orangy or too sweet and that the chicken would be bland. So I used chicken cutlet that I added salt & pepper to and then dredged in flour, shaking off any excess. This made my sauce really nice as it cooked and kept the thin chicken moist and it looked great. This allowed me to cut down on the cooking time by 20 minutes!The thin chicken needed less o.j. to cover. Before putting my chicken in the baking dish, I lightly browned the onions in a tablespoon or two of butter. ( I used sweet onion) I used a basting brush to thinly paint a bit of dijon on the bottom of the dish and then added half of the onions then I added the chicken. I also used a sprinkle of crushed red pepper after covering the chicken with the o.j. When it came time to make my sauce I did not use more o.j, but instead used a 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I also reserved a tablespoon of the brown sugar that goes on the chicken at the end. I used that to sweeten my sauce to my taste and only used barely 1/2 of that TBS. I added another sprinkle of the crushed red pepper here, but that may or may not be too strong for some although everyone in my house liked it alot- even the fussy ones.Well almost everyone...my ole man said it was a bit on the sweet side and would be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was really good, and my husband liked it as is. I found it a bit too sweet, so next time I will cut the sugar just a bit. There was a lot of sauce, as one reviewer said, but some people really like a lot of sauce. Plus, I only used 3 half-breasts (one each for our supper and one for his lunch tomorrow), and I would use the same amount again if I had 4-6 breasts. I made sure I used a dish in which the chicken pieces were fairly tight together, so less liquid was needed to cover them. Anyway, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
very tasty and easy to make. I served this dish with buttered egg noodles and fresh steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I made this and you just have to adjust the recipe- don't use the brown sugar- then it tastes good - also I added spices over the chicken after the mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emmysnacks
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this for myself for dinner last night and have to admit I didn't love it. I used red onions on top of the chicken and the combination of mustard, brown sugar and orange juice made them tast fabulous, but the chicken itself tasted like a bland chicken with orange juice on top. I used a rather thick chicken breast but now think maybe this recipe might be best with thin chicken cutlets. I don't know if I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmysnacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Really good. The whole family enjoyed this. I did have a problem with the flour making the gravy lumpy, and will use cornstarch next time. Didn't affect the taste though. I personally think the chicken would be better without the onion, but hubby really liked it that way. A keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This turned out very good. Contrary to other reviews it had plenty of flavor. One change I made was to let the fish soak in the OJ for just a bit before prep. Would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerry dodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States