Orange Juice Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
i've made this recipe several times, and love it. my dad is the most pickey man on earth and i made it for him one night and he even liked it! i always know if its a great recipe if he likes it! you dont have to be precise on the ingredients though, just spread it all on lightly. i didnt give it 5 stars just because its quite a different taste, sweet, but tangy...it may confuse you when you first taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was good and I will make again but I would make some changes. I would use Corn starch instead of flour (good for Gluten free) and I would add Bell Pepper and a little garlic with the onion. I might also try adding some Pineapple next time and maybe a slash of Soy sauce. This is a dish you can play with. I made it in the Crockpot and added some Stir fry veggies a 1/2 hour before serving. Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
made it and it was great, I added red bell peppers to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Didn't care for the orange juice to flavor this chicken. I'll try the orange marmalade next time instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I found the dish too sweet. Probably could use less brown sugar. Honestly though, if you like sweet things, you should give this a try. The sauce was interesting to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
We loved this recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. The sauce was terrific which we served w. chicken and added rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Oh, where do I begin? The chicken was WAY too sweet! If I make this again I will half the OJ and completely omit the brown sugar. I would add chicken broth to make up for the decrease in OJ. I suggest maybe adding some Cayenne pepper and serve it over rice. I think it would make a good asian dish. Not impressed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is a very good recipe. The thing that is missing in the instructions is to actually marinade the chicken in the marinade mixture for several hours before putting the chicken in the oven. For those that complain of dryness, I recommend trying chicken thighs instead of breasts (more flavorful and more moist). Other than that change, follow the recipe and you should have a very nice result. Serve it with rice if you like - the thickened marinade works well with that base. It's a very nice, simple recipe that delivers a bit result in terms of flavor. My guests absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was an Ok dinner quick and easy, a few suggestions , marinate the chicken in the juice for at least an hour , also use a good orange juice like simply orange , i thought the sauce was lacking a depth of flavor, I think it could have been reduced more I used a big pan so I had lots of juice and used cornstarch to thicken , alot of people complained about the flour being clumpy so mix the flour with a little juice first then add next time I will try by adding the juice to a light rue first this may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I was really skeptical about this recipe. I was afraid of the Dijon, thinking it would over power, but it was perfect and blended nicely with the brown sugar and o.j. ( I am no fan of dijon but this worked great) I was also afraid it would be too orangy or too sweet and that the chicken would be bland. So I used chicken cutlet that I added salt & pepper to and then dredged in flour, shaking off any excess. This made my sauce really nice as it cooked and kept the thin chicken moist and it looked great. This allowed me to cut down on the cooking time by 20 minutes!The thin chicken needed less o.j. to cover. Before putting my chicken in the baking dish, I lightly browned the onions in a tablespoon or two of butter. ( I used sweet onion) I used a basting brush to thinly paint a bit of dijon on the bottom of the dish and then added half of the onions then I added the chicken. I also used a sprinkle of crushed red pepper after covering the chicken with the o.j. When it came time to make my sauce I did not use more o.j, but instead used a 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I also reserved a tablespoon of the brown sugar that goes on the chicken at the end. I used that to sweeten my sauce to my taste and only used barely 1/2 of that TBS. I added another sprinkle of the crushed red pepper here, but that may or may not be too strong for some although everyone in my house liked it alot- even the fussy ones.Well almost everyone...my ole man said it was a bit on the sweet side and would be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States