Orange Juice Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Too sweet for me, but the sauce on top of brown rice got the kids to eat rice without a grumpy remark. I agree with a previous reviewer that some more mustard added while cooking the sauce would be a good idea. I'm going to add some when I serve the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was super easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane Arrian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilliejustina
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was a simple, easy recipe to make. I followed every step... After the 45mins, in a separate bowl I put the 1/4 cup of sugar, with the 2 tbsp of flour, (I did add salt and pepper) mixed it with the juice from the pan... Then I spread it on the chicken. I put foil paper over the baking pan and let it cool off. Thank for a delicious recipe, I will be making this again??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I used half brown sugar, half honey, dash of salt, minced onion (using food processor) , no pulp OJ and marinaded chicken pieces for two nights. I should have separated chicken from juice, put butter and baked it in an oven from the beginning. Cooked juice with flour on stove but sauce did not thicken and looked a little odd - tasted great with salt, though. It did not taste orange too strong. Onion should have been chopped instead of minced, as the recipe says. Overall, I liked it! Left-over sauce can be put on white fish or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This was a huge hit, no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This chicken is awesome! Although, I did sprinkle a little poultry seasoning on top of the chicken before pouring in the orange juice as I found that it was a little too sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Baum

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This recipe was an absolute disaster to make but was incredibly delicious. My chicken breasts must have been MUCH plumper than most other reviewers' because I had to use almost twice the orange juice the recipe for to cover 90% of the chicken. That meant the flour called for was inadequate so I had to keep adding until I got the sauce to thicken. But the taste is WONDERFUL! Might try making it in a smaller casserole dish next time which would decrease the amount of orange juice needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was a simple and yummy meal. The only thing I might change next time is to stick to 2c. of OJ, even if it doesn't cover the chicken....I ended up with WAY to much sauce. Paired with a vegetable and some crusty bread...for mopping up the sauce...it was a nice meal, that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I used green onion instead and added a splash of soy sauce to it before cooking (wanted it tangy). Also, because some reviewers noted that the dish was too sweet, I used less than 1/4 cup of brown sugar on top of the chicken. After cooking for 45 minutes, I poured a little honey on top of the chicken then popped the dish under the broiler for 10 minutes to brown up the top of the chicken. I did not make the sauce by adding flour at the end, but just served the chicken in the juices, which were delicious (making the dish gluten free, too!). Not too sweet at all, and putting the chicken under the broiler cooked away some of the liquid. The chicken was super moist, sweet and tangy. Plenty depth of flavor. And really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States