Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Well, I meant to buy a box of orange cake mix and the store was out and decided to use dry ingredients from a cook book for a yello cake. I accidentally used baking soda instead of baking powder, but caught it and added some baking powder, well aware that this cake may be doomed. I used orange jello and vanilla pudding in the cake part. I added orange juice, in place of water and added orange extract in the syrup part. Well, it was getting too dark so I put foil over the top and cooked it about an hour. It tasted great, but it wouldn't stay in a solid piece. Maybe next time, I use a box cake mix and make sure not to use baking soda (still can't believe I did that)...it would probably be a more solid dessert. Not worthy of a picture but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This cake is outstanding. I had coconut cream pudding on hand; so, used that plus substituted water with Sunny D drink. Cut the glaze by 1/3. Used 1/2 on cake while hot and then the other 1/2 after the cake had cooled 15 min. Also, used Sunny D in glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
It was a hit on Memorial day, even the guys liked it. East to prepare, very moist. I didn't taste a whole lot of the orange flavor, but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetoeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I LOVE THE ORANGE IN TE CAKE LIKE O MY GOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made this in the microwave in my Stoneware Bundt pan and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Have made many forms of this recipe over the years and this one is very good but, to develop the orange flavor, I feel it needs a few additions. Add 1 tbls. orange rind to the batter plus 1/4 cup orange liqueur to replace some of the water. For the glaze I use at least 2 tbls.of orange liquer. Sorry for changes, but of course poeples' tastes differ. Am sure that your cooking time is just an oversight which any of us can do. Thanks tho for a very good base for many varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I am giving this a 4* as for me this was how the cake turned out with a few changes. I feel that how the recipe is written the cake would not make as good a cake, firstly the cook time I think is too far off. A 30 minutes a Bundt cake of this size would turn out a gooey mess. I baked my cake for a total of 50 minutes. I used a BC Yellow cake mix, orange juice instead of the water. I always use a mixture of walnut oil and applesauce in place of vegetable oil and I also added a packet of orange sugerfree Jello (also used the Vanilla pudding mix, the recipe called for). I wanted a chocolate orange marble effect to the cake. To a 1/3 of the batter I added a little cocoa and some chocolate syrup. The cake turned out like I expected with a nice moist orange taste. I guess it taste's one up from the orange soda cake I have made in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This recipe is a good base, but the one thing that will make this cake POP! is substituting the vanilla pudding with 1 small pkg. of orange Jello. It brings the orange flavor everyone is looking for. TRY IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renae92

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NSUNRISE
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I used 1 cup of oj instead of water and omitted the oj sauce. I covered it with orange flavored buttercream. Huge success at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very moist cake. I recplaced the oil with applesauce and used an orange juice glaze made with orange juice, orange extract and powdered sugar. Took to the teacher's lounge and it was gone in a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States