Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
use a little less sugar in the sauce. try the same recipe using chocolate and an appropriate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Delicious... per other reviewers, I substituted OJ for the water and added some orange zest to the batter and the glaze. I also added a splash of Grand Marnier to the glaze. Everyone had to have seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Our family really liked it. The girls are 5 and 8 and both gave them a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Wodnicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Well, I meant to buy a box of orange cake mix and the store was out and decided to use dry ingredients from a cook book for a yello cake. I accidentally used baking soda instead of baking powder, but caught it and added some baking powder, well aware that this cake may be doomed. I used orange jello and vanilla pudding in the cake part. I added orange juice, in place of water and added orange extract in the syrup part. Well, it was getting too dark so I put foil over the top and cooked it about an hour. It tasted great, but it wouldn't stay in a solid piece. Maybe next time, I use a box cake mix and make sure not to use baking soda (still can't believe I did that)...it would probably be a more solid dessert. Not worthy of a picture but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This cake is outstanding. I had coconut cream pudding on hand; so, used that plus substituted water with Sunny D drink. Cut the glaze by 1/3. Used 1/2 on cake while hot and then the other 1/2 after the cake had cooled 15 min. Also, used Sunny D in glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
It was a hit on Memorial day, even the guys liked it. East to prepare, very moist. I didn't taste a whole lot of the orange flavor, but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetoeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I LOVE THE ORANGE IN TE CAKE LIKE O MY GOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made this in the microwave in my Stoneware Bundt pan and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Have made many forms of this recipe over the years and this one is very good but, to develop the orange flavor, I feel it needs a few additions. Add 1 tbls. orange rind to the batter plus 1/4 cup orange liqueur to replace some of the water. For the glaze I use at least 2 tbls.of orange liquer. Sorry for changes, but of course poeples' tastes differ. Am sure that your cooking time is just an oversight which any of us can do. Thanks tho for a very good base for many varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I am giving this a 4* as for me this was how the cake turned out with a few changes. I feel that how the recipe is written the cake would not make as good a cake, firstly the cook time I think is too far off. A 30 minutes a Bundt cake of this size would turn out a gooey mess. I baked my cake for a total of 50 minutes. I used a BC Yellow cake mix, orange juice instead of the water. I always use a mixture of walnut oil and applesauce in place of vegetable oil and I also added a packet of orange sugerfree Jello (also used the Vanilla pudding mix, the recipe called for). I wanted a chocolate orange marble effect to the cake. To a 1/3 of the batter I added a little cocoa and some chocolate syrup. The cake turned out like I expected with a nice moist orange taste. I guess it taste's one up from the orange soda cake I have made in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States