Orange Island Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
We liked this and thought it was a fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I was wanting the orange flavoring, but it was over powered by the soy sauce. It was pretty good, not sure if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I went with the previous reviewer's comments of adding some sweetener to the marinade and used several tsps of dark brown sugar. Also used fresh grated ginger. I briefly sauteed sweet potato chunks in the same skillet I used to brown the chicken, and then finished roasting them in the oven. Perfect accompaniment with the orange flavored chicken. Delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Excellent Dish, the only thing I would do is to add just a touch of sweetness to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPYGIRLLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Made for my Grandparents today for lunch. I served it over white rice and sauteed vegetables. Just had a hint of orange flavor. Not bad at all, my grandparents thought it was gormet, but I know I can find something better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This recipe was good and definately a keeper. I've now made it 2 times. Rather than fry the chiken first I baked at 350 for 30min covered and then 15 uncovered...although that may be a bit long. I doubled the marinade, added a little brown sugar and topped with orange slices while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
We loved this chicken. I did follow some of the suggestions and made a few adjustments of my own. I used a combo of fresh squeezed tangerine juice and not from concentrate OJ ( I used tangerine zest too). I did add the touch of brown sugar and garlic, but I also added about 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. You HAVE to use high heat when you brown and keep them in the pan long enough for the flour to crisp slightly. When you bake them, the result of the breading texture is like pressure fried chicken. The extra marinade cooks down, so if you want sauce you need to make extra marinade. This is definatly a keeper for our house. Thanks for the great recipe and the suggestions too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
one word.Delious!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, Alaska, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I used this with some adjustments and it was delicious! I read previous reviews and decided not to use the flour. I did add some brown sugar as stated in other reviews. I added sesame seeds to the top of my chicken after allowing it to marinate for about 4 hours. I then baked the chicken for about 35 minutes. It was outstanding. Will definitely use again! I only gave the recipe 4 stars because of the changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States