Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Wow this recipe was exceptional. The whole family nearly ate their plates. I did make a few adjustments, I used halved garlic under the skin with smart balance spread & added a few extra spices. Instead of broth I used 2 cups of water and added the remaining sliced garlic and melted smart balance to it. Turned out delicously. Will be trying this recipe with my Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Well I made some changes such as: 1.I just used parsley 2.olive oil in spite of butter 3.add potato with skin in the pan It was marvelous and my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galareh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is recipe is great! We eat a lot of roasted chicken and this is another favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I don't know how someone rated this recipe as expensive. That's just...silly. If you don't like cooking whole chickens, don't do it. I used a large chicken that was marked down. I couldn't fit both oranges inside my chicken with the garlic cloves and butter, so I just used the one. I made the spice mixture and kind of mushed the rosemary and thyme in my hands to not only break up the spices but to bring out the flavor. I took the suggestions of other cooks and roasted it breast down in the beginning and just flipped it near the end with the foil off, to make it pretty and brown. This made for extremely moist and tender breast pieces. I asked my husband to pick out a roast chicken and I admit that I was skeptical at first. It turned out great. I plan on keeping the carcass and juice and making chicken broth. For your money, oranges are always cheap as is garlic and spices. Using the carcass to make chicken broth, you really stretch your money. You could even half the butter and use homemade broth like I did and still come out ahead. This recipe is great! I'd make this again, no question. Great job, Nellie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made this recipe using a Capon which is a Rooster. It tasted faboulous, I used Coarse sea salt and I used dry spices, that I had on hand used 1/2 of the butter and I poked holes into the Chicken skin with a fork then I rubbed the salt and spices into the skin, then I drizzled with orange juice and drizzled with butter put in a turkey oven bag and cooked it. If you put your meat in a oven bag then you don't have to baste. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
LOVE THIS !! EASY AND OH SO YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This turned out really well for my first roast chicken in the oven. I usually use the slow cooker. I didn't have oranges so I poured some orange juice over it and stuffed it with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this chicken last night and my family gobbled it up! It was quick and easy to prepare and delicious to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My husband and I were very pleased with this chicken dish. I also made a few substitutions, just because of what I had at home. I used dried herbs instead of fresh, limes instead of orange(didn't have any oranges), and used less butter, only about 4 pats under 4 cuts in the skin. This recipe was delicious! I cooked carrots in the dish around the chicken and added stovetop stuffing the last 30min. So good! Can't wait to try it with an orange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I am a vegetarian (or flexitarian rather) who has never cooked any sort of meat other than ground beef. For my sister's birthday I decided to cook dinner for my entire family and this is what I settled on. A little daunting at first for a first-timer like me, the recipe was actually really simple and straightforward. I followed the recipe as is and it turned out fantastic. I even tasted it just to see what it turned out like and actually liked it so much that I had to have a second bite. I may eventually make this one again but since I don't eat meat in my own home, it's not going to be for quite a while. One note: for someone like me who has never done something like this before, it would have been helpful to know to wash the chicken and pull out any feathers that might still be lurking. Had my sister not been there watching me for entertainment value, I wouldn't have known this little tidbit of info. Thankfully she told me BEFORE I started getting the rest of the ingredients involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miremba

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States