Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I've made this before and found the results were much better when the softened butter was combined with the herbs and then rubbed under the skin. This way the herb/butter flavour permeated the meat and it was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I don't know how someone rated this recipe as expensive. That's just...silly. If you don't like cooking whole chickens, don't do it. I used a large chicken that was marked down. I couldn't fit both oranges inside my chicken with the garlic cloves and butter, so I just used the one. I made the spice mixture and kind of mushed the rosemary and thyme in my hands to not only break up the spices but to bring out the flavor. I took the suggestions of other cooks and roasted it breast down in the beginning and just flipped it near the end with the foil off, to make it pretty and brown. This made for extremely moist and tender breast pieces. I asked my husband to pick out a roast chicken and I admit that I was skeptical at first. It turned out great. I plan on keeping the carcass and juice and making chicken broth. For your money, oranges are always cheap as is garlic and spices. Using the carcass to make chicken broth, you really stretch your money. You could even half the butter and use homemade broth like I did and still come out ahead. This recipe is great! I'd make this again, no question. Great job, Nellie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Even better if you cook the chicken upside down until 20 mins before then end of cooking time (approx).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I love to make a roast chicken. That being said, I made some adjustments that made this even better. I zested about a teaspoon of the orange peel then combined it with the herbs and softened butter and smooshed it under the skin. I added the orange halves to the clean cavity. I skipped the broth altogether and dry roasted on a rack while covered with foil at 400 degrees. You will have to calculate time based on the size of your bird. I uncovered the bird the last 30 minutes to brown. Even without the broth, there were alot of juices in the pan, so I put them in a small pan and reduced them to create a nice glaze for serving. Yummy! I have done a similar recipe using lemons for years and truthfully they are both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Well I made some changes such as: 1.I just used parsley 2.olive oil in spite of butter 3.add potato with skin in the pan It was marvelous and my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galareh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made this recipe using a Capon which is a Rooster. It tasted faboulous, I used Coarse sea salt and I used dry spices, that I had on hand used 1/2 of the butter and I poked holes into the Chicken skin with a fork then I rubbed the salt and spices into the skin, then I drizzled with orange juice and drizzled with butter put in a turkey oven bag and cooked it. If you put your meat in a oven bag then you don't have to baste. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I just used this recipe and substituted lemons with the oranges, because I didn't have any oranges... My children devoured it. It was great!!! I also added chopped potatoes around the sides after boiling them from about 10 minutes. mmm-mmm-good!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hulahaqq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This did not have the orange flavor that I was looking for, but it was very tender and eveyone seemed to enjoy the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very nice roast chicken! I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup melted and skipped the 'under-skin' step (I know a lot of people swear by this, but I've done it both ways and don't buy it,) and used rubbed sage since I didn't have any fresh. Great orange and herb flavor - cooking time was right on. Thanks for the recipe Nellie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Wow this recipe was exceptional. The whole family nearly ate their plates. I did make a few adjustments, I used halved garlic under the skin with smart balance spread & added a few extra spices. Instead of broth I used 2 cups of water and added the remaining sliced garlic and melted smart balance to it. Turned out delicously. Will be trying this recipe with my Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States