Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a really good recipe that produces a flavorful and juicy chicken. I did make a few changes--1. Always use chicken STOCK instead of chicken broth. It is much more flavorful and is better for basting.2. I did not have the fresh herbs, so I liberally sprinkled a dried italian seasoning all over the chicken.3. Definitely put the butter under the skin, but skip the melted butter over the top if you use the chicken stock.4. I like this chicken with little red potatoes, carrots, and celery, so I just place them around the chicken in the stock and they cook along with it. **To the users who had trouble with the chicken "boiling in the juices" instead of roasting---Always roast chicken in a roasting pan with a rack that lifts them up above the juices. It is a very worthwhile investment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I followed the suggestion to place 3-4 foiled wrapped potatoes in the bottom of crockpot-no water breast side down & cooked for 6 hrs. Yum Yum Gimme Some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYDUCKY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The chicken was moist & delicious. I will definitely make this recipe again. My family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anchala
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
First time I'd ever baked a whole chicken, and it turned out nice and juicey! I used 1 lemon and 1 orange and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianAndAli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This chicken turned out to be a mess for me! It almost seemed to be boiling in the broth; never did turn brown & crispy on the outside like I like it. Furtermore, the skin tore when I was putting the butter pieces in it so all ended up in the broth. I overcooked it at close to 2 hrs just trying to get it brown and done. The flavor was OK, but I'm so glad I didn't have any guests the night this was served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
delicious! the orange flavor is apparent but not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Fabulous! Perfectly moist and flavorful! Followed recipe exactly - wouldn't change a thing other than mine seemed to be browning a bit too quickly so I placed a piece of foil very loosely on top for the last 20 minutes or so. Thanks, Nellie! This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I have baked whole chickens before, but this was the best I have ever made. Differences: It took a little over 2 hours to bake, added marjoram, minced all herbs and placed under skin and in cavity. Really great! I usually stuff birds with a heavy combo of bread, egg, dried cherries, and turkey sausage but this was very light and made the chicken very moist. I will do this again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loislain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
So easy and good!! I found that if you cut up one of the oranges and add it to the broth, there's more of an orange taste and better for the basting!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Lots of effort for an OK result. The chicken was moist but rather bland. If I make again, will add spices and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States