Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My daughter basically makes this recipe, but she uses lemons instead. She pricks the lemons with a fork or something sharp before putting them inside the bird with onions. She also rubs olive oil on the outside skin, sprinkles it with sea salt, and lets it sit for a while before she roasts it. I don't think she adds any stock to the pan and usually has plenty of juices. It is to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I love to make a roast chicken. That being said, I made some adjustments that made this even better. I zested about a teaspoon of the orange peel then combined it with the herbs and softened butter and smooshed it under the skin. I added the orange halves to the clean cavity. I skipped the broth altogether and dry roasted on a rack while covered with foil at 400 degrees. You will have to calculate time based on the size of your bird. I uncovered the bird the last 30 minutes to brown. Even without the broth, there were alot of juices in the pan, so I put them in a small pan and reduced them to create a nice glaze for serving. Yummy! I have done a similar recipe using lemons for years and truthfully they are both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Forget the oven. Stuff the bird with the citrus and put it on the rotissery. The juice seeping thru the bird glazes the chicken. We used tangerines off the tree. Even sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky S
Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very good and very easy! The orange flavor was very slight - I would have wished for a slightly stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
great flavor, family enjoyed the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a really good recipe that produces a flavorful and juicy chicken. I did make a few changes--1. Always use chicken STOCK instead of chicken broth. It is much more flavorful and is better for basting.2. I did not have the fresh herbs, so I liberally sprinkled a dried italian seasoning all over the chicken.3. Definitely put the butter under the skin, but skip the melted butter over the top if you use the chicken stock.4. I like this chicken with little red potatoes, carrots, and celery, so I just place them around the chicken in the stock and they cook along with it. **To the users who had trouble with the chicken "boiling in the juices" instead of roasting---Always roast chicken in a roasting pan with a rack that lifts them up above the juices. It is a very worthwhile investment!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I followed the suggestion to place 3-4 foiled wrapped potatoes in the bottom of crockpot-no water breast side down & cooked for 6 hrs. Yum Yum Gimme Some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYDUCKY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The chicken was moist & delicious. I will definitely make this recipe again. My family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anchala
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
First time I'd ever baked a whole chicken, and it turned out nice and juicey! I used 1 lemon and 1 orange and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianAndAli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This chicken turned out to be a mess for me! It almost seemed to be boiling in the broth; never did turn brown & crispy on the outside like I like it. Furtermore, the skin tore when I was putting the butter pieces in it so all ended up in the broth. I overcooked it at close to 2 hrs just trying to get it brown and done. The flavor was OK, but I'm so glad I didn't have any guests the night this was served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States