Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is delicious. Made one small change, I grated the zest off one orange, mixed it with the butter and put this under the skin. It did add a lot more of an orange flavour to the chicken. It is very moist and was a hit with my family. I think it would be a lovely dinner for a special occasion. Served mine with hasselback potatoes and fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I'm not a big fan of fruity meat, but this turned out really well. The combination of herbs and citrus was fragrant without being overwhelming. I roasted carrots in with the chicken, and they were also especially tasty. Thanks, Nellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I've made this one twice now, and both times have been dissatisfied with the outcome. I have come to the conclusion that I don't like to put things inside my birds before cooking them, because the thigh temps out right long before the bird is ACTUALLY done, so I have (both times) wound up having to re-cook the bird after my husband started carving it. The taste and juiciness are fantastic, as is the sauce left in the pot (thickened with flour, skimmed, boiled, and whisked into gravy). I'd recommend this recipe, because the flavor is great, but only with the caveat of "it needs longer to cook than you'd think". Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I love this recipe. It's easy and the orange flavor infuses into the chicken making it perhaps the best chicken I've ever had. Moist, tasty and easy to prepare...can you ask for anything more?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
this one wasnt bad at all...I over cooked it so im gonna have to try and make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Smells yummy, I changed some things, used peeled oranges cubed, stuffed in chicken and half in pan with 2 cups broth and 4 potatoes cut in spears... Used lemon pepper too... yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Yum, this was a really tasty chicken! I used about 3 Tablespoons smart balance instead of the butter, and I mixed the herbs with the smart balance to put under the skin. I also substituted olive oil instead of the melted butter, and drizzled it on top. I probably only used about 1/4 C. Thanks, Nellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was delicious! After reading the reviews, I mixed the butter with some of the herbs, the garlic and the zest of one orange before pushing under the skin, and cooked breast side down to start with. The cooking time was perfect, and the sauce created from the broth, juice, butter and chicken juices was great. Definitely will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was very simple and straightforward to pull together. I used a few tablespoons of olive oil instead of the cup butter and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States