Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This made for a super moist chicken that tasted really good. I was a little sad that the orange didn't really give it much zing but still worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My girls gobbled this one up...They are 5 & 3 and picky...Nice flavor, great for leftovers too...I used dry herbs due to lack of availability but turned out nice...I crushed them and added them to the butter...Takes out a step which helps with time...Yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I roasted a 6 lb bird and found it juicy and delicious. It did take a bit longer,and I had to continually baste and add extra broth to the pan. I also followed the advice of others and blended in dried Italian seasoning - mostly dried versions of the fresh herbs in the recipe, and orange zest to the butter before putting it under the skin. I also added fresh-squeezed orange juice to the deglazed pan juices just before serving with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Anything I cook that my wife likes gets 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Expected a burst of orange flavor but it just wasn't there. I am big zester and should have zested the oranges and placed the zest under the skin. Mmm, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have not made this particlaur chicken recipe but I make one very similarly quite often. I don't use any butter though. I cut up onions, celery, and carrots and but some in the baker pan and also some in the cavity of the bird. I then season the bird with fresh rosemary, if I happen to have it or I just use dried, 21 seasonings from trader Joes, garlic powder, and a little salt. I then squeeze and orange over the chicken. I use the remaining parts of the orange, some in the chicken and some just in the pan. I also cut up an apple and stick that in the bird too. Lastly, I pour a little apple cider in the pan and then bake it basting every 1/2 hour for a total of 1 1/2 baking at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Very good. I didn't have sprigs of herbs, I had flakes and leaves. The orange kept the chicken juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This did not have the orange flavor that I was looking for, but it was very tender and eveyone seemed to enjoy the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lindsey Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was my first time doing a whole chicken and it wasn't too difficult. It smelled amazing and tasted great, too. It wasn't as citrus-y as I had hoped, but it could have been the oranges I used. I coated the butter with pressed garlic and dried rosemary before putting it under the skin. There was also hardly any juice to suck up with the baster for my particular chicken. I ended up doing it only twice instead of every 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was very tender and moist! I cut the amount of butter way back to 1/4 c. total. I put 2 Tbs. cut in pieces under the skin and drizzled another 2 Tbs. over chicken before roasting. The left over meat I used to make a chicken pie. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States