Orange Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I had to add corn starch to make it less runny and stick to the carrots better. Otherwise it tastes like carrots in hot orange juice. Thickening agent is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by friday13th777

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very good. I made a few changes - I added a bit of cornstarch to the oj and mixed it up before adding it to the carrots. I also grated some orange zest and added that for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe has become a family favorite. My grandmother just requested that I bring it to Thanksgiving! The only thing I do differently is simmer the carrots in OJ from the beginning. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
i was looking for a different way to cook carrots... and thank you!! although i did make the changes that ranchgirl said, and this recipe was fabulous!! love it ! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugj4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
My family absolutely loved these carrots. I added a little bit more orange juice and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Ok, but not great. Everyone said they wouldn't mind having the baby carrots raw instead. (Less work for me and WAY healthier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlily
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Best glazed carrots I have ever made. I added a bit of all spice and a little less sugar to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I was excited to make these for dinner tonight to go with a pork roast. I ended up being very disappointed. I didn't have an entire bag of baby carrots. What I used was probably 3/4 of a bag. I cooked them in a steamer bag in the microwave for 2 minutes less than it said. When I simmered them with the orange juice I had to double the amount because it hardly covered the surface area of the pan. As directed, I simmered for 5 minutes and added the brown sugar and butter. I wanted to add the corn starch to thicken it but there was no orange juice left to thicken, it had all cooked away even after doubling the amount. The carrots ended up being way overcooked to the point of mush even after undercooking them to begin with. They did not taste like orange at all, just like sugary mush, almost like the consistency of baby food. I am deleting this from my recipe box and will definitely not be making these again. I apologize for the negative review, but I was thoroughly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
It yummy, I usually add a little orange marmalade esp if I don't have any orange zest on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Excellent! I used frozen sliced carrots instead of baby carrots and it turned out great. Even my husband who doesn't like vegetables liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Meissner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States