Orange Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This dish turned out excellently for me, about what I expected, BUT....after adding the orange juice and simmering, I looked at the excess of liquid and did the following: Drained the OJ off the carrots, added the br. sug. and margarine to the carrots in the saucepan, whisked the drained OJ with the salt, a dash of pepper, and 1 1/2 Tblsp cornstarch, drizzled honey over the carrots, mixed the cornstarch mixture in, and simmered 3-4 min more. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
519 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
The taste pf these ingredients together was really good, however, I gave four stars because after reading many reviews I decided to preapre them a little differently than the recipe states. I cooked the carrots in one pan and then added the ingredients for the sauce to another and whisked in 2 tsp. of cornstarch and brought it a boil. It made the perfect glaze that I then just poured over the cooked carrots. That seemed to work to solve the problem with the glaze that many others reported.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I just made these for dinner, having tweaked a recipe from Sue Spitler. The ones I just made were so good I thought I'd share the difference. Cook the carrots in a little water. In a separate pan make the glaze: 1/2 cup orange juice, 1/3 cup light brown sugar, 2 tablespoons cornstarch, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (at the very least), 1/4 teaspoon allspice, 1/4 teaspoon ground mace, a little pad of butter to aid against sticking to the pan, a few pinches of parsley, 3 or 4 dollops of ORANGE MARMELADE. Heat and stir till thick. You may want to let the glaze cool a little bit because it gets really hot and stays hot longer than expected. The marmelade lends some little chunks of oranges and I think is super super ... super tasty. Obviously NOT for those on a diet... the less you cook the carrots the more carrot flavor... the more you cook the carrots, the easier to disguise them (for children or those who usually don't like cooked carrots). Though I tweaked the recipe, I think Ms. Spitler is still right that you can also use yams and/or beets for this. I think the glaze is sooo good that it could be used with ice cream or... basically in dishes replacing caramel. Yum. (serves about 4 people as a side dish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This recipe is terrific! I love glazed carrots, but the syrupy sauce in my normal recipe kind of gets to me. This recipe isn't syrupy, and has great flavor. I par-boiled the carrots, and transferred all ingredients to a frying pan, to cook down the sauce, and give the carrots a nice roasted texture. Great recipe Heidi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
add 1 pinch of cinnamon for flavor, and 1 tsp of corn starch to thicken the syrup. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Instead of cooking in water, I cook the carrots in orange juice- it gives a more orangy flavor, I think I added a little ginger with the brown sugar and butter. I've made these also with regular carrots- slicing the carrots in thirds on the diagonal. Have made these several times now- my whole family likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Very easy and kind of tasty, but pretty boring despite touch of ground ginger I added. If you are looking for a nice carrot recipe, try these. If you are looking for an exceptional carrot recipe, look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Very easy! A nice taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Great recipe! I added OJ to the boiling water and also added honey for thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I loved this recipe. I used real butter and light brown sugar and they came out great. I decided to make this because I had some left over baby carrots that I had used for minestrone soup, and I wanted a way to use them up. HOwever, next time I think I'll use more orange juice because a quarter of a cup just wasn't enough. I could barely taste the orange flavor. Other than that, the carrots were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States