Orange Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I was excited to make these for dinner tonight to go with a pork roast. I ended up being very disappointed. I didn't have an entire bag of baby carrots. What I used was probably 3/4 of a bag. I cooked them in a steamer bag in the microwave for 2 minutes less than it said. When I simmered them with the orange juice I had to double the amount because it hardly covered the surface area of the pan. As directed, I simmered for 5 minutes and added the brown sugar and butter. I wanted to add the corn starch to thicken it but there was no orange juice left to thicken, it had all cooked away even after doubling the amount. The carrots ended up being way overcooked to the point of mush even after undercooking them to begin with. They did not taste like orange at all, just like sugary mush, almost like the consistency of baby food. I am deleting this from my recipe box and will definitely not be making these again. I apologize for the negative review, but I was thoroughly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
It yummy, I usually add a little orange marmalade esp if I don't have any orange zest on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Excellent! I used frozen sliced carrots instead of baby carrots and it turned out great. Even my husband who doesn't like vegetables liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Meissner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very tasty. Thanx Beki! Like others, I mixed turkey w/ sauce vs layering. Added an entire jar of spaghetti sauce to meat. Next time, I'll cut down the sour cream & cream cheese by a few oz. each as it was a bit rich for me. But, very delicious! Also seasoned up the meat alot w/ Italian spices. pepper, onions & garlic. A big hit w/ family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Love these carrots! This is my side dish when I serve Sweet and Sour Chicken. I always cook the carrots until tender, like 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
These carrots were good. Just a little sweet and a hint of orange. They would be really good to serve on Thanksgiving or Christmas. I followed the recipe with one exception (which I don't think changed the flavor)- I cooked the carrots in 1/2 water 1/2 OJ. Next time I'll just cook the carrots in water like the recipe says and drink the OJ ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These carrots are fantastic & I'm not a big fan of cooked carrots. I did make the glaze a different way because it wasn't very easy as directed. I cooked the carrots & drained first as directed. Then I set them aside while I made the glaze in a separate pan.Then I added the carrots to that pan & stirred & simmered as directed.Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I personally did not get to taste this recipe after I made it. I was looking for something my daughter would enjoy and she absolutely did not like this. My son managed to eat it, but also stated he did not like it. But, my fiance really liked it. Thats why I at least gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nita
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is very easy and great tasting! No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I doubled the sauce ingredients, added a tsp of ginger, and the grandkids thought they were eating candy!!! You can bet these carrots will be on all my holiday tables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States