Orange Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I found the carrots to be too bland tasting and had too much liquid left over. I think there needs to be a little bit more flavor and possibly a thicker sauce. I will make a few changes and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
These were, as best as I can describe it, "blah". Edible, but didn't do anything for me. I used regular carrots instead of baby carrots (which are supposed to have more carrot flavor) and still hardly had any flavor. I used a little bit more carrot to soak up the juices, so I didn't need the corn starch. Since it was pretty bland I added cinnamon as others suggested and I added a touch of nutmeg as well and STILL had me thinking, eh, I'm leaving my carrots for stews and soups until I can find a better way to use them up. Don't think I'll be making these again. Sucks, I was excited about these too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I couldn't taste the orange: basic glazed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These were fabulous! I did take the advice of another review and put everything in a frying pan, after boiling, to reduce the sauce to more of a glaze consistency. The results were spectacular. They may have even swayed two people who didn't like carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
A good idea, but I agree with another review stating that it doesn't really take on much orange flavor. Fine, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
These carrots are very tasty...but the sauce is very, very runny. I added some cornstarch mixed with a small amount of water while the sauce was boiling...this helped a lot, forming the juice into a glaze that coated the carrots. The only other problem I had with this recipe is that the carrots didn't take on as much orange flavor as I would have liked...all in all, this is a simple, tasty side dish that I would make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I prefer a "candied" carrot. So I used cinnamon, brown sugar, butter, and vanilla. This gives it a sticky feel, I just pictured organge juice making this too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Thesee were delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
probably wouldn't make them again... Just b/c i didn't like the taste of sweetened carrots too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRENE8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this twice. It definitely needed cornstarch to thicken the glaze. I ended up adding ginger & cinnamon to my second batch because I felt like it needed a little something extra than the recipe called for. My family ended up devouring that second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States