Orange-Ginger Tofu Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was very good! I used orange-mango juice and half the oil. I simmered the poured-off marinade while the tofu was baking and served it over sauteed veggies, and it was delicious. After 40 min. in the oven I still had a lot of marinade in the pan and the tofu wasn't golden, so I broiled it for another 10-15 min. to get a bit of a crust. Although the tofu looked floppy when I took it out of the pan, it had a nice texture. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
used apple juice because I didnt have orange. It was good and could maybe be great with the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
As other reviewers suggested, I cut back the oil significantly. This was ok but the tartness of the vinegar really overwhelmed the other ingredients. If I were to make this again i think I would add some honey to mellow out the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Made this as the recipe stated and it was good! I will make it again but with modifications. First, make sure you have EXTRA firm tofu. I didn't and it was a little mushy. Also, I'd add some brown sugar to taste and cut back on the oil. I've made tofu before and if you like more of a 'chicken nugget' texture..freeze the tofu before marinating it. All in all...a good recipe to tinker with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great recipe. Less oil is def. needed. I use 2 tblspoons olive oil and 2-3 drops of sesame oil. Using the 4 teaspoons of sesame really, really overpowers. I also found it best to freeze the tofu after pressing the water out. Freezing for about an hour allows tofu to be cut into into thinner pieces without it falling apart. I followed previous advice and I bake with all the marinade, turning tofu over halfway and then either letting moisture cook to a yummy glaze, takes about 1.5 hr or I take it out after an hour and serve the marinade over rice for a full meal. These tofu triangles also work great in curry dishes! The baked marinade really helps the tofu keep it's form in the hot skillet full of coconut milk and curry and it adds an extra depth of flavor to the curry dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These are very tasty and easy to make. I didn't drain the marinade off before I baked them because I wanted sauce for the rice. My only problem with the recipe, hence the 4 stars instead of 5, is that the marinating time should be included in the total time. I ended up not eating this on the night I planned to because I thought it would be ready in 1 hour and 25 minutes. It did taste delicious the next night, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I loved these flavors! I actually would've preferred more of the sauce. I pan fried these after they came out of the oven and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I was so excited to try this but then let down when it was finished. All I could taste was the soy sauce, such a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very tasty stuff! I use Bragg's Aminos instead of soy sauce and season accordingly. Even my 'meat & potatoes" husband enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I've made this several times and it is always a hit with vegetarians and meat eaters alike. I typically marinade the tofu in a large ziplock bag over night. Doing that really soaks up the orange and ginger. This recipe is good baked, grilled or in a noodle salad cold. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States