Orange-Ginger Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Everyone at the Thankgiving table loved it. It went very well with cranberry sauce. I did add a little cinnamon to it and sprinkled the top with Spenda brown sugar along with the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
It wowed everyone on Thanksgiving, and it was the first left-over to disappear from the fridge. Full of real flavor, not just sugary-sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
did this for Thanksgiving '08 and it came out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I don't like sweet potatoes...never have...never thought I would. I only make them on Thanksgiving because of "tradition" and I usually end up throwing most of them out. These were wonderful. I actually ate them and liked it! The whole casserole disappeared. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I followed the recipe, but I just wasn't happy with the result. It tasted like an orange creamsicle to me. Others at the table were happy with it, but I think it needed nutmeg, allspice, or cinnamon. It was way too orange for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I make this for Thanksgiving with the hopes it would be a good alternative to the sickening sweet casseroles that are so prevalent. I liked the flavor of the ginger and the orange, yet somehow the end result wasn't satisfying and both my husband and I thought it needed "something" although we couldn't decide what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The 4 star review is for the recipe, not the dish. I followed the recipe exactly, and I think it has a lot of unneccessities that could be removed to streamline it. For instance, when the potatoes came out after they were roasted the great roasted flavor ws there, but after mashing them with eggs, oj, and rebaking, it left so I think even microwaving it instead of roasting would make no difference to cut down on the time. Additionally, I don't feel the egg made any contribution. The sweet potatoes didn't taste any different or puff up for me...so I think they could have been omitted. And the ginger could be tripled at least to make it come out more( candied ginger sounds like a great idea) I'm a sweet potato freak, but I always only eat it plain with a little coconut or spicy onions and so I was expecting my first casserole to taste vastly different, but this was nice, subtly orange, mashed sweet potatoes. I love the orange flavor...in the morning, topped with leftover cranberry sauce...fabulous breakfast:) Oh, and I eat it cold...orange flavor's much more pronounced. I tried it few other ways...with butter( didn't like that) and with plain yogurt and a drizzle of molasses. Molasses was unnecessary, but the yogurt was very good with the potatoes...but then again, I'm a plain yogurt freak;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Thanks for a lower-calorie alternative! My quick tip? Microwave the sweet potatos, let them cool a few minutes, and the potatos "shrink" from the skin, making peeling a breeze. Also, I whip my potatoes rather than put in the blender--gives a little more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Great alternative to the overly sweet sweetpotato dishes! I do suggest that you do not waste time in roasting the potatoes - way too much time and effort. If you have a pot with a steam basket, try this: Fill pot with water (up to about 2 inches below basket) & start heating it up on the stove. While your water is heating, peel and cut your potatoes into pieces - as uniform as possible - so it cooks evenly. By the time you are done prepping, the water should be just about boiling. Just fill up the basket with your potatoes and place the lid on. It took me about 10 minutes to steam mine, because I cut it into about 1/2 inch squares. You will be able to tell when they are tender enough to mash in the processor and you don't have to wait for them to cool down like you would with baking! Makes the whole first step take about 20 minutes, versus 90+. I also added about a dozen drops of red pepper sauce (tapatio or you could use tabasco) - not enough to make it spicy, just to impart more depth to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I also dislike the all-too sweet and rich yam casseroles. This was a wonderful and healthy change of pace! I wrapped the potatoes in foil and put them in the oven while my turkey was baking. After taking out and resting the turkey, I popped the casserole into the oven to bake, making this so convenient to make and not taking up oven space. I loved the subtle sweetness and the blend of flavor with the orange and ginger. I did add some candied ginger to the food processing of ingredients and liked that alot. With the addition of the egg, this puffed up nicely. The crunch of the roasted pecan added wonderful flavor and texture. I was tempted to sub out some of the oj for some bourbon but I decided I will try that next time. I love sweet potatoes with a holiday meal but up to this point I usually baked them because of being so turned off by 'dessert casseroles'. One could add honey if the sweet potato was not sweet enough. *I also used fat free plus milk, which is skim but has the taste and appearance of 2%. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States