Orange-Ginger Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Great alternative to the overly sweet sweetpotato dishes! I do suggest that you do not waste time in roasting the potatoes - way too much time and effort. If you have a pot with a steam basket, try this: Fill pot with water (up to about 2 inches below basket) & start heating it up on the stove. While your water is heating, peel and cut your potatoes into pieces - as uniform as possible - so it cooks evenly. By the time you are done prepping, the water should be just about boiling. Just fill up the basket with your potatoes and place the lid on. It took me about 10 minutes to steam mine, because I cut it into about 1/2 inch squares. You will be able to tell when they are tender enough to mash in the processor and you don't have to wait for them to cool down like you would with baking! Makes the whole first step take about 20 minutes, versus 90+. I also added about a dozen drops of red pepper sauce (tapatio or you could use tabasco) - not enough to make it spicy, just to impart more depth to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this casserole for Thanksgiving and highly recommend it. I dislike over-sweetened sweet potatoes on the dinner table (too much like dessert). This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. It is similar to the old, standard combination of sweet potatoes and orange juice, but has some added body from the eggs and milk. I used the juice and zest from two whole oranges and the casserole had a nice, orangy flavor. Next time I might add more ginger, as I didn't taste that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I also dislike the all-too sweet and rich yam casseroles. This was a wonderful and healthy change of pace! I wrapped the potatoes in foil and put them in the oven while my turkey was baking. After taking out and resting the turkey, I popped the casserole into the oven to bake, making this so convenient to make and not taking up oven space. I loved the subtle sweetness and the blend of flavor with the orange and ginger. I did add some candied ginger to the food processing of ingredients and liked that alot. With the addition of the egg, this puffed up nicely. The crunch of the roasted pecan added wonderful flavor and texture. I was tempted to sub out some of the oj for some bourbon but I decided I will try that next time. I love sweet potatoes with a holiday meal but up to this point I usually baked them because of being so turned off by 'dessert casseroles'. One could add honey if the sweet potato was not sweet enough. *I also used fat free plus milk, which is skim but has the taste and appearance of 2%. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The 4 star review is for the recipe, not the dish. I followed the recipe exactly, and I think it has a lot of unneccessities that could be removed to streamline it. For instance, when the potatoes came out after they were roasted the great roasted flavor ws there, but after mashing them with eggs, oj, and rebaking, it left so I think even microwaving it instead of roasting would make no difference to cut down on the time. Additionally, I don't feel the egg made any contribution. The sweet potatoes didn't taste any different or puff up for me...so I think they could have been omitted. And the ginger could be tripled at least to make it come out more( candied ginger sounds like a great idea) I'm a sweet potato freak, but I always only eat it plain with a little coconut or spicy onions and so I was expecting my first casserole to taste vastly different, but this was nice, subtly orange, mashed sweet potatoes. I love the orange flavor...in the morning, topped with leftover cranberry sauce...fabulous breakfast:) Oh, and I eat it cold...orange flavor's much more pronounced. I tried it few other ways...with butter( didn't like that) and with plain yogurt and a drizzle of molasses. Molasses was unnecessary, but the yogurt was very good with the potatoes...but then again, I'm a plain yogurt freak;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Thanks for a lower-calorie alternative! My quick tip? Microwave the sweet potatos, let them cool a few minutes, and the potatos "shrink" from the skin, making peeling a breeze. Also, I whip my potatoes rather than put in the blender--gives a little more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a keeper! I have never liked the traditional candied sweet potatoes. All the sweet potato recipes I have tried are way too sweet. This is so much better! I didnt like the idea of milk and orange juice together so I used 3Tbs of butter instead. I used 2 large sweet potatoes and kept the amounts of everything else the same. I used the whip with my stand mixer instead of a food processor. I served this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. Most of us agreed that leaving off the pecans would be better, but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was the best recipe that I have ever made off of this website. It was AWESOME! I made this for THanksgiving with my family yesterday and it was a HUGE hit. I did make one adjustment. I doubled the Ginger, it was perfect as my family really likes the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber_in_PDX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was a great, healthy alternative to the regular sweet potato casseroles that are loaded with sugar. Since I made it just for me I used two cups of sweet potatoes and then kind of guessed on the quantities of the rest of the ingredients. I think it was even better the next day. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I took these to Thanksgiving dinner and they were a real hit! I followed the recipe exactly, except for using a whole egg instead of two yolks, and I used 2 tablespoons of ginger. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoastMama
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Made for Thanksgiving this year and Easter! Even the kidlet loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoastMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States