Orange Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I make this recipe all of the time. It's a real hit. The only change that I make is to leave out the pineapples. It is absolutely one of my favorite desserts. I am actually eating a bowl as I type. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Admittedly I experimented a little and substituted sour cream for the cottage cheese (texture issues with cottage cheese) and used mango instead of pineapple and the results were spectacular! Refreshing and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I work with a guy who always brings this to our potlucks...and because I love it so, he brings me my own bowl! It is fresh and refreshing! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I love this! My mother-in-law introduced it to me and it's a family favorite. We just mix everything together in one bowl, chill, and serve. I usually use sugar-free jello, fat-free cool whip and cottage cheese, and it's nearly as good without the guilt. I've seen a couple of comments about the gelatin... you DO NOT make the jello, you just mix the packet in. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I usually make this without the pineapple. Then my husband, who won't eat anything with cottage cheese in it, will even eat it. Yummy and easy. Use light cottage cheese and cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Very easy and tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
My mom has made this Orange Salad for many, many years. I couldn't quite remember how to make it so I found your recipe. It is exactly like mom used to make and oh so delicious! Always has been a favorite of mine, especially during the summer months. Excellent and highly recommended. Don't let the though of cottage cheese in the recipe scare you away! It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineMamaOf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I used sugar free jello, sugar free Cool Whip and low fat cottage cheese (blended in a food processor to make it creamy). Very good for a low sugar dessert. My diabetic dad loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This salad was ok tasting but the cottage cheese gave it a weird texture. I have found another recipe that had the taste I was expecting with a light and fluffy texture. ORANGE MANDARIN SALAD 1 lg. box orange Jello, 1 (6 oz.) can mandarin oranges,drain, save juice 1 c. Cool Whip. Prepare Jello using basic directions on box. Use mandarin juice for some of the water. Put in bowl deep enough to use electric mixer. Chill until partially jelled. Beat with electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add mandarin oranges and Cool Whip. Chill and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This didn't look too pretty but tasted really good. It didn't say to dilute the jello but I assumed you would make it according to package directions. I added the package directions hint of substituting part of the water with soda (I used diet orange and sugar free jello for my diabetic dad) and it was very tasty. I think the next time I make it I will blend the cottage cheese with the partially set jello then add the fruit and whipped topping. I might add some nuts and maybe coconut next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States