Orange Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Delicious salad. I've also used strawberry and lime Jellos as well, omitting the oranges. My favorite is strawberry-banana. I also use the small box of Jello which I think is 3 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My family has been making this salad for years, but I never got the recipe. Finally, I have it! The recipe was good, but I altered it a bit for my own taste. I left out the pineapple, and used 24-oz container of cottage cheese instead of 16-oz. I think that was a good change. Also I would like to note that you need to eat this the day it is made-after that it turns into a soupy mess...but that is to be expected with the whipped cream. Delicious recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I LOVE this fruit salad! Its my favorite for summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was really good! I just love fruit and cream salads with cottage cheese! I think this recipe lend itself really nicely to a lot of substitution too. I used a soy-based 'whipping cream' b/c we don't have Cool Whip in the UK and you couldn't tell the difference, flavour-wise. I also didn't have canned mandarin orages, so I used canned peaches and some fresh fruit I had on hand to make it healthier (blueberries, diced apples and bananas) plus I added some chopped pecans b/c I love nuts. I only gave it four stars because I think in the future, I might not use the jello. My husband thought it made it taste too artificial, but I really liked it. Anyhow, it was yummy...I can't stop eating it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPENABAUER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Reminds me of my grandma. It is an acquired taste I believe. I love it because I am from the north and we had this every few months growing up. However my husband, from the south, isn't a big fan. To each his own =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My mom used to make this all the time for special occasions. She died this past September 2008, and the family got together for Thanksgiving and we decided to make it in honor of her. We couldn't find her original recipe, so I searched on here and found this one. It taste identical to the one she made. We just added pecans to it. Whole pecans on the top and crushed ones throughout the salad. Yummo!!! I will definately put this one in "my recipe box?.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stewarta1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I love this recipe! It has become a family favorite at Thanksgiving (as it goes great with turkey) but I just took it to friends for a lasagna dinner - and it was great! Easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmarkham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
If you like cottage cheese, you would give this recipe 5 stars. Having said that, the cottage cheese taste and texture really turned me off on this. Cream cheese would be better for me. Definitely an interesting recipe... I'll experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Based on taste and difficulty I have to give this 5 stars. I've been making this for years now. I was initially concerned about the cottage cheese, but it really adds to the consistancy. Like other reviewers I have changed up the flavor with different Gelatins keeping the pineapple as my constant and adding another fruit to match my chosen Gelatin. This is great for color coded showers in that you can make this almost any coordinating color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcconnells, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I've made it twice exactly as listed, it is so yummy. I'm looking forward to trying my own version. I'm pregnant and this get me fruit and dairy and a yummy treat all in one! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States