Orange Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
One container of cottage cheese is plenty for this salad. I like to triple the oranges in this salad and I add one bag of mini marshmallows to help soak up some of the "juice" that comes when this salad sits. My husband swore up and down that he didn't like "fluffy" salads until he tried this one and ate three bowls, back to back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Great recipe! My mom makes this every year during the holidays. She also adds crushed pineapple, it makes it extra good!And, she puts some of the mandarin oranges on top!I actually made it this year and my kids can't wait to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Thanks for sharing, Linda. This salad is yummiest with apricot jello and some added crushed pineapple. Its quick and easy for buffets and church suppers if you need a last minute dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I'm always on the look-out for healthy snacks I can prepare for my children. My son and I both enjoyed this dessert very much. Instead of the mandarin oranges, I used canned peaches, chopped and drained. I have made this in the past using peach gelatin and it's delicious. I used fat-free cottage cheese and fat-free cool whip. I will definitely make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a hit at any party. I also take this to funerals as it can be dropped off the night before. Never come home with leftovers. Strawberry is also a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is comfort food. My family made jello salads for every family outing during my years at home. My mom used to use a blender to smooth out out the texture and then add the fruit. I love dishes like this - 5 minutes to put together! I recommend using small curd cottage cheese. I used fat-free cottage cheese, and sugar-free whipped topping. Unfortunately, I didn't have any mandarin oranges on hand - and it was fine without. This had 2-3 hours to set, but could have used a little more. Enjoy everyone - and thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Update: Made this again for a luncheon, this time I added marshmallows to it (posted pic). Original review: I used this recipe, but kind of combined it with another recipe that I had. I was a little nervous about putting the powdered gelatin in with the other stuff, and not actually making the jello per say (ie boiling the water). But it actually turned out really well! I subbed the cottage cheese for 8 oz. of sour cream and added cherries & crushed pineapple. My 3yo is calling this 'shark salad' since we got the other recipe with the cherries and cr. pineapple from the kids section of our local newspaper and the section was about sharks, LOL! (: Thanks for the post! My 3yo had like 5 bowls through the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This is a very easy and delicious recipe to make. You can also make different flavors by changing the Jell-O flavor and adding different fruits. I am a big fan of mandarin oranges so this was super yummy to me! Thanks so much Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This has been a favorite of mine for years! It's so quick and easy. I use it for a lot of church potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna VonEye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
A variation of this recipe--which have we affectionately christened "Pink Stuff"--is a must for all our family get togethers. We use strawberry flavored gelatin mix (dry) and drained pineapple tidbits or drained crushed pineapple in place of mandarin oranges. We recently started adding fresh sliced strawberries and blueberries to it...pure bliss! This light salad/dessert goes well with a heavy meal. I serve it in an older Princess House ice bucket for that added splash of prettiness...tea cups/saucers also make a nice presentation! Quick, easy and so DELISH! Recommend using the thawed frozen whipped topping as the you-whip types of topping do not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States