Orange Drop Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
After reading other reviews about how the cookies spread out strangely, I made the dough into small balls and cooked them in batches of 6 as I tested sizes, I made the balls of dough slightly bigger until they were at a decent size and I could start with larger batches. My husband took them to work for his coworkers (along with Mrs. Siggs Snickerdoodles) and they were an absolute hit. They were thick and moist as some reviewers complained (personally I rather liked it, it was a nice change from the other Christmas cookies I made this year), but the frosting was a very nice touch (and very pretty as well!). I also followed another reviewer's advice and did not mix the zest in with the frosting but sprinkled it on after I had frosted the cookies: it made a very pretty and colorful presentation. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
After reading other reviews that stated that the cookies would run all over the cookie pan I decided to make a few changes to mine. In my cookies I added a half-a-cup more flour, refrigerated the dough overnight (just like a sugar cookie) and then baked them in a greased muffin pan. They came out looking just like the Allrecipes picture above. Just make sure you don't put too much dough in each muffin tin or they will come out more like short muffins than like a cookie (since they are cake-like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I added 1 tsp of orange extract to the batter which gave it more orange flavor. Also, keep in mind that if you substitute butter or margarine for the shortening, it will "melt" differently than if you use shortening. I used shortening and they came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
These cookies were a great addition to my Christmas assortment. The frosting is the perfect combination of sweet & tart! They're a little unusual but highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used to make these all the time and couldn't find my cookbook with my tried and true recipe. So glad I found this one! I did add an extra half cup of flour due to other reviews. Cookies came out perfect and the icing is awesome. Next time I'll be sure and double the recipe. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
This recipe is fabulous! Very easy and tastes wonderful!! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCSAVOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marriottsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
These cookies are great! I tried making them with orange pineapple juice and they came out very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These cookies are very good! I made half batch like suggested, then with the second half I added some chocolate chips. Both ways are awesome! However, these cookies do run all over the pan so next time I make them I will add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristengenell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
The cookies came out tasty. They're soft inside - like little orange cakes in a cookie crust. I made them with margarine, not having shortening, and fearing that they would spread out too much if I used butter. Also, to ensure against "melt down" I used a bit less baking soda and baking powder than the recipe calls for. The icing is a bit sweet for me, so the second batch went without, instead i left it longer in the oven, until it browned, they became a bit crispier on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Barb, Thank you for submitting your recipe on the Orange drop cookies. I looked everywhere for a recipe. In old recipe books, but there where none to be found.I made them and they are great. It's an easy recipe to follow and a pleasure to make. Thanks, Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States