Orange Drop Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I love this recipe. I do not frost some and add extra frosting to the others. This works well for my family and the non frosting lovers vs. the diabetic prospects! I also have added a smidgen of pure almond extract to the frosting to give it the Italian cookie flair, but either way they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Wow!! So quick and easy. Decided to go ahead and whip up a batch for my cookie lover co-workers...!! I know they will be very happy tomorrow..Great cookie texture and great flavor! I added more Orange Zest of course, but I prefer a more tangy cookie and frosting..Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe. I followed it and the cookies were perfect. I used 2 oranges. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Since the dough seemed too thin prepared exactly according to the recipie, I put just one tray of these in the oven. As I feared, they spread terribly and were next to impossible to remove from the cookie sheet--even with my trusty, sharp-edged cookie lifter. I added between 1/4 and 1/3 cup of flour to the remaining dough, and baked as directed. The second tray held its shape like a decent drop cookie. I note that my oven was the right temp, I used high-end cookie sheets, and greased the sheets as directed. I made half the icing. It was flavorful, spread nicely, and set up well for storage. However, the cookie itself was bland and mealy. Not even cookies from the second tray made it with what I served or gave as gift assortments for Christmas. If I tried this again, which I won't, I'd add twice the orange zest and enough flour to the dough to give it the correct consistency for baking. Might also improve with butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I used shortening not butter and added a 1/2 cup flour as some others suggested and they turned out just like the picture. They have a great orange flavor and we love them. To make the icing I had to add an extra tablespoon of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Just made these today and they are quite tasty. I made them smaller and baked them for 5 minutes. The batch yielded 30 luscious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I was very disappointed with the fact that the batter spread out crazily all over my cookie pan. Also, the cookies were still raw after the suggested amount of cooking. 15 minutes is better. Wen i used a cake pan the cookies didn't spread as badly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
very good recipe for orange lover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Amazing. I used butter(preference) and added 1/2 cup flour to compensate. These didn't last long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made these cookies tonight for a fundraiser for a local Cancer victim. I was a little short on orange juice so I added some orange extract to the dough. I had no trouble with them spreading too much. The recipe says a serving for 18, not sure if that meant 18 cookies. I got 28 myself. I ate one, 3 for hubby and 2 dozen for the fundraiser. Great taste and a pretty cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States