Orange Date Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This turned out very good using the adjustments other people made. No need for sour cream, yogurt works perfectly without the extra fat. I blitzed the orange, orange juice, dates and egg in processor. Sifted dry ingredients and then added the wet processed ingredients followed by the yogurt. I also added pecans (half a cup) and a tsp of mixed spice which i think made a nice addition. I zested my orange first and then removed the excess white pith all around before processing. But that's just me because I didnt see the need for the extra non-nutritious bulk the pith would add. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pietermaritzburg, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tucsonjenn
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These muffins were well received by everyone who tasted them. However, I changed some things in the recipe (which is why I only gave it 4 stars). I zested the orange, discarded the rind (white part) and food processed the inside. I also upped the sugar to about 2/3 C (maybe a little less), and added cinnamon and nutmeg. This recipe NEEDS cinnamon and it gives the muffins a great smell. I will totally be making these again. If you don't really care for orangey things, don't make these little guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
The peel of the orange makes the muffins bitter!!! If I make these again...I would peel and only zest on top with a sprinkle of brown sugar. I have better muffin recipes. C.F. Kelowna CAN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aaron
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
When I read through the recipe, I assumed that "peel" meant "zest," so that's what I did, and the flavor was spot on. I even used water instead of orange juice, since I didn't have any, and the flavor was just orangey enough. The texture was deliciously perfect. If you're having problems with the texture, consider switching to "Metric" up above in the "Servings" section and weighing your dry ingredients, especially your flour. It will make the baking process much more foolproof. Plus, it's a lot easier on clean-up...just place your mixing bowl on the scale, press tare, pour your ingredient to needed weight, press tare, pour your next ingredient, etc. No need for measuring cups let alone scooping and leveling and getting flour and sugar everywhere. I've converted all of my recipes...just because I like less cleanup! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Fantastic! I loved it.They came out really nice. I added a little extra sugar-2/3 cups, and added raisins (boil them in water/rum first) instead of dates. It came out perfect.I will surely bake these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Great recipe! - I've made these a few times with only slight modifications, and everyone liked them (including my 5 yr old nephew). Only changes I made, based on reading reviews: did not use orange peel, but used orange zest instead; changed 1/3 cup sugar to 2/3 cup sugar; added 1/2+ tsp cinnamon and pinch of nutmeg to dry ingredients. They turned out fine, not too sweet, a good muffin for breakfast or with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I mixed the orange juice, chopped orange, chopped dates, egg and sugar in my blender. I increased the sugar just a bit, from 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup, and used fat free yogurt for the sour cream. The flavour is lovely, and I made no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
am a bit ambivelent here as far as rating. Would rate 3.5 stars. I read all reviews first and used just 1/2 the orange peel reserving the other half in case I wanted to add more but didn't need to. These did have a very nice orange flavor. Put the eggs, juice, sugar, dates, and orange in my food processor. I thought at first I had added too much powder or soda because it had that 'fizzy' look and texture but realized it was just reacting with the acid in the juice. Subbed some of the oj with fresh pineapple juice and they still had very nice orange flavor. The problem I have with this is #1. not really sweet enough so would be more like a breakfast muffin. I intend on glazing them w/some 10x sugar mixed with oj and zest to help with this. #2. I was alarmed when I saw one reviewer mention the word 'pudding' like texture. I found I had to bake them a bit longer to get rid of that spongy pudding like texture and it didn't completely. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. each of allspice and nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cardamom. These blend of spices were complimentary. Very good flavor but just lacking in sweetness and the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Yummy and moist like little puddings. I added some ground cloves and cinnamon, and only used 1/3 the skin from the orange. I don't think I would use any more peel than that as the variety of orange I used had quite a thick peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Sorry, didn't like these at all. Made exactly as recipe stated and found them bland except for the overwhelming taste of orange skin (and I only put in half the skin). Thanks anyway, Maria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States