Orange Date Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
Moist and delicious--a nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
Although I added cinnamon, the muffins were a little bland. Next time will add more sugar & spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icesx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Excellent!!! These were so nice and moist** didn't have sour cream -but- Yogurt worked just fine, added some spices. GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Here are some changes that make these muffins even better.... OMIT: sour cream ADD: 1 stick butter (room temperature), 1/2 cup chopped pecans INCREASE: white sugar to 3/4 cup. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut orange in pieces and remove pits. In food processor, put in whole orange, o.j., egg, and butter. Blend for 3 to 4 minutes. Sift dry ingredients into a bowl. Mix in chopped dates. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just blended. Bake at 400 degrees F for 15 minutes. You'll love this even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made these for Christmas morning and I would have given this recipe 5 stars except I had to throw out the first batch. I made them exactly as printed (orange with peel) but when I tried one it was so sour! The next batch I made the same except I peeled the orange and used grated zest instead. They turned out much better without the peel. Next time I will add a little cinnamon and nutmeg to punch it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Mmmm, these were fantastic. I was a tad hesitant to put the entire orange, skin and all into the muffin, but they turned out just right! Instead of sour cream I used peach yogurt because it was all I had and the recipe still worked well. One of the best muffins I ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Sorry, didn't like these at all. Made exactly as recipe stated and found them bland except for the overwhelming taste of orange skin (and I only put in half the skin). Thanks anyway, Maria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Yummy and moist like little puddings. I added some ground cloves and cinnamon, and only used 1/3 the skin from the orange. I don't think I would use any more peel than that as the variety of orange I used had quite a thick peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
am a bit ambivelent here as far as rating. Would rate 3.5 stars. I read all reviews first and used just 1/2 the orange peel reserving the other half in case I wanted to add more but didn't need to. These did have a very nice orange flavor. Put the eggs, juice, sugar, dates, and orange in my food processor. I thought at first I had added too much powder or soda because it had that 'fizzy' look and texture but realized it was just reacting with the acid in the juice. Subbed some of the oj with fresh pineapple juice and they still had very nice orange flavor. The problem I have with this is #1. not really sweet enough so would be more like a breakfast muffin. I intend on glazing them w/some 10x sugar mixed with oj and zest to help with this. #2. I was alarmed when I saw one reviewer mention the word 'pudding' like texture. I found I had to bake them a bit longer to get rid of that spongy pudding like texture and it didn't completely. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. each of allspice and nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cardamom. These blend of spices were complimentary. Very good flavor but just lacking in sweetness and the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I mixed the orange juice, chopped orange, chopped dates, egg and sugar in my blender. I increased the sugar just a bit, from 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup, and used fat free yogurt for the sour cream. The flavour is lovely, and I made no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States