Orange Curried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Very good for a quick and easy curry dish. To shorten the baking time I cut boneless, skinless chicken into strips. If you're going to do that, reduce the amount of water since it has less time to thicken. Some have said the dish was too sweet, and that can be countered by using an imported marmalade, which is usually less sweet than American marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Delicious.. I too altered the recipe somewhat: used boneless skinless breasts, baked for 30 minutes, also I cut the water down to less than 1/4 cup and used about a tablespoon of soy sauce and 1 teaspoon of jarred minced garlic. I didn't cover the dish in the oven and probably should have, as basting didn't actually seem necessary and I could have left it go. Having a penchant for spicier foods, I think I could increase the amount of curry next time or add a few other spices to kick it up a notch. Great idea for chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
I took some liberties with this recipe, and still it turned out to be very tasty. I substituted apricot preserves for the marmalade and curry powder for the paste. It was very good! My family enjoyed it with steamed rice. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Very good! I used individually frozen (boneless and skinless) chicken breasts. Since they usually make quite a bit of juice when baked, I decreased the amount of water in the recipe. Also, I halved the recipe since I was only cooking 2 breasts. To seperate the 2 breasts from the plain one I was baking for my kids, I used foil. This kept the sauce right on the chicken, instead of spreading out through the pan. I served it with couscous, but had so much sauce left, I wished I had used white rice. The sauce would have been great over it. The chicken stayed very moist and had a nice appearance. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Wow, what a great recipe! I varied it a bit: I added cilantro since I had a ton in my garden and instead of baking I grilled the chicken. I also put a bit of lime juice on top of the chicken immediately after putting it on the grill. What an amazing flavor adventure!! I paired it was a mango salsa and chili-lime corn on the cob. This has to be some of the best chicken I have had in a long time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This dish hit the spot for my family. Used boneless skinless chicken breasts and substituted soy instead of water. Super simple to whip up and the sweet sauce goes well over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOKAOI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Added about a tsp of fresh garlic, about 1/2 tsp dried red pepper flakes for spice, and 1/2 tsp more salt. I also recommend using skinless legs, thighs, or other dark meat pieces...the breast was just a little too dry w/out marinading prior to cooking (even after basting while cooking) for my tastes. Will definitely make dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
FABULOUS! I mixed a hot curry powder with the sweet orange marmalade - - what a perfect combination. This glaze would be fantastic over salmon or pork, too. I served it with a side dish of honey carrots, which also went well with the curried sauce. Thank you, Wilma, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was pretty good although I will say that the Marmalade was a little strong in flavor. I had to thicken with corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I got the comment - "You have to make this again!" from my kids, so I know it was a hit. I used cooked frozen skinless chicken breasts which I thawed first in a pan until they were almost cooked through. Then I baked them with the sauce for only 30 min. so not to dry out. I took the advice to replace the water and salt with soy sauce and served with white rice. Thanks for an easy meal that is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States