Orange Curried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I just made this for dinner tonight and it was great! As others suggested, I used soy sauce in place of water and salt, used pork chops instead of chicken, and only needed to bake it 30 mins. (max - could have gone less even). Served over brown rice with veggies. VERY easy, quick, and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I make something similar. Only I add a small bottle of bbq sauce & 1 tsp. minced garlic, along with the orange marmalade.(I omit the curry) I also cook the chicken and the sauce in the slow cooker for 6 hrs. Serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very sweet and delicious; tried it with a box of rice this time around, but think next time I'll try cous cous. I wonder if anyone has a suggestion for keeping the leftovers from getting so soggy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I'm so sorry, I thought this was one of the worst things I ever made. Maybe I did something wrong since it does have several positive reviews. My husband seemed to like it, however I thought it was terrible. So sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Very good for a quick and easy curry dish. To shorten the baking time I cut boneless, skinless chicken into strips. If you're going to do that, reduce the amount of water since it has less time to thicken. Some have said the dish was too sweet, and that can be countered by using an imported marmalade, which is usually less sweet than American marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was a tasty and simple meal. The preparation was easy. I marinated the chicken in the sauce and baked for about 30 minutes. The next night I put the leftover chicken into quesadillas with fried onion, cheese and mango-lime salsa. This was well received as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Delicious.. I too altered the recipe somewhat: used boneless skinless breasts, baked for 30 minutes, also I cut the water down to less than 1/4 cup and used about a tablespoon of soy sauce and 1 teaspoon of jarred minced garlic. I didn't cover the dish in the oven and probably should have, as basting didn't actually seem necessary and I could have left it go. Having a penchant for spicier foods, I think I could increase the amount of curry next time or add a few other spices to kick it up a notch. Great idea for chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Wow, what a great recipe! I varied it a bit: I added cilantro since I had a ton in my garden and instead of baking I grilled the chicken. I also put a bit of lime juice on top of the chicken immediately after putting it on the grill. What an amazing flavor adventure!! I paired it was a mango salsa and chili-lime corn on the cob. This has to be some of the best chicken I have had in a long time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I got the comment - "You have to make this again!" from my kids, so I know it was a hit. I used cooked frozen skinless chicken breasts which I thawed first in a pan until they were almost cooked through. Then I baked them with the sauce for only 30 min. so not to dry out. I took the advice to replace the water and salt with soy sauce and served with white rice. Thanks for an easy meal that is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMCCREAR
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
There definitely wasn't enough flavor in this dish. I thought the orange marmelade and curry sounded like a great combination, but I was very dissapointed. I won't be making this again. I plan to pull the chicken and make it into a soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States