Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I wonder if the glaze is supposed to make the top get a little crunchy? That's the only thing I can think of. I have a recipe called "Louisiana Crunch Cake" that is also an orange cake. It has a topping made of 2 TB flour, 3 TB brown sugar, 3 TB confectioners sugar, 1/4 tsp orange extract and 1/4 tsp orange rind. You combine the topping ingredients combine with 3/4 cup of the cake batter and pour into bottom of the Bundt pan and then top with remaining cake batter. That addition might add the crunch to this cake that people are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The four star rating is only because this is boldly orange flavored, a bit too much for my liking. For those that might appeal to, then this is definitely a five star cake. Given the ratio of sugar, butter and flour, I doubled the number of eggs which resulted in an incredibly moist cake. Obviously the orange syrup, which soaked into the cake, played a big part in that as well! I thought dried cherries would be a nice complement so I used those instead of the raisins. While the walnuts and raisins (or in my case cherries) are certainly a good fit for this cake, this is one occasion, probably because this cake is SO full of flavor, that I'd prefer this cake without either. Were I to make this again I would also cut the amount of orange zest in half for a more subtle orange flavor. I made this in mini Bundtlette cake pans for individual cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
A great "hearty" orange cake. Family has asked for the recipe. I added half cup of orange juice to the recipe, and doubled the topping recipe for extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Moist and delicious, but mine didn't really have a "crunch." It seemed done at 50 minutes so I took it out. Added 1 Tb triple sec to the glaze and it was great (highly recommend this). Used 3/4 c vanilla yogurt cuz I didn't have sour cream and added 1/4 cup fresh OJ to the cake. Used dried cranberries and 1/2 c mini choc chips. Poked with toothpick before spooning on glaze. When I turned it out after completely cool, the other side looked rather plain so next time I will make more glaze for the top. I plan on making this one for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
This cake is the best. It has become my husbands favorite, the only one he requests. The only modification I have made is to soak the raisins in about 3 tablespoons of orange liquer for about 30 minutes. Sometimes I do not use the frosting but just sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This was a pleasant tasting cake. My husband liked it, I thought it was just okay though. It is a good way to use up those oranges in the crisper (juiced of course). Maybe this would be nicer with craisins rather than raisins. I would make this again, with a little adapting of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
One reviewer took a star off because this cake was too boldly orange flavored for her! Quite frankly, I found barely a trace of orange flavor in this cake. I followed the recipe, except that I added a bit of pure orange extract to the syrup and I added orange juice to the batter and doubled the zest. It was wonderfully moist and light but if I was to make it again, I'll add 2 or 3 tbsp orange juice concentrate to the batter, and a touch of lemon juice to the orange juice syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Not very often I given a 5 rating, but this cake is superb and wouldn't change a thing. Of course we love orange so the amount of zest listed is perfect. Thanks for a lovely addition to my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
My friends and family really enjoyed this and asked for the recipe. I used the orange flavored craisins - it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This cake is wonderful, and with the orange glaze is very rich. I heated up the sugar/OJ glaze in the microwave to help dissolve the sugar. I made it with dried cranberries, and used fat free yogurt instead of sour cream. Couldn't have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States