Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
awesome! took the advice of one other cook with adding a topping, tasted great! i do not know what the others are talking abt... in regards to the crunch but my glaze added the crunch along with the nuts. used cranberries instead of the raisins. thank you . a true keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
My friends and family really enjoyed this and asked for the recipe. I used the orange flavored craisins - it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I wonder if the glaze is supposed to make the top get a little crunchy? That's the only thing I can think of. I have a recipe called "Louisiana Crunch Cake" that is also an orange cake. It has a topping made of 2 TB flour, 3 TB brown sugar, 3 TB confectioners sugar, 1/4 tsp orange extract and 1/4 tsp orange rind. You combine the topping ingredients combine with 3/4 cup of the cake batter and pour into bottom of the Bundt pan and then top with remaining cake batter. That addition might add the crunch to this cake that people are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Moist and delicious, but mine didn't really have a "crunch." It seemed done at 50 minutes so I took it out. Added 1 Tb triple sec to the glaze and it was great (highly recommend this). Used 3/4 c vanilla yogurt cuz I didn't have sour cream and added 1/4 cup fresh OJ to the cake. Used dried cranberries and 1/2 c mini choc chips. Poked with toothpick before spooning on glaze. When I turned it out after completely cool, the other side looked rather plain so next time I will make more glaze for the top. I plan on making this one for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
This cake was very good- Along with the vanilla I added a touch of orange extract.The crunch topping wasnt as crunchy as i would have liked but still very good-will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Added craisins instead of raisins and it was wonderful, tart and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This cake is wonderful, and with the orange glaze is very rich. I heated up the sugar/OJ glaze in the microwave to help dissolve the sugar. I made it with dried cranberries, and used fat free yogurt instead of sour cream. Couldn't have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Thank you thank you thank you. What a delicious cake. Moist and so flavorful. This will most definatly be a regular in my house. I made it for my Christmas Eve buffet for my family. I could barely keep from eatting it myself, it smelled delicious. I did change one thing, I took another reviewers advice and used Crainsins instead of raisins. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This cake has become a Christmas favorite for my family! It is not too sweet and tastes delicious. This cake is great as a breakfast pastry as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This was a pleasant tasting cake. My husband liked it, I thought it was just okay though. It is a good way to use up those oranges in the crisper (juiced of course). Maybe this would be nicer with craisins rather than raisins. I would make this again, with a little adapting of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States