Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I have been using it since 1984. Fair is Fair. Give the proper people credit for it. It is a recipe from Pillsbury which appeared in a magazine in 1984. I still have the original cut out from the magazine and it is well worn from many years of use. It is a great recipe from Pillsbury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This was a huge hit with my family. Moist, yummy, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEWSHANE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
At a recent family dinner I made this cake. In attendance was a former Bakery Chef who thought this was one of the best cakes she had every had! Everyone is still raving about this cake. This will be coming along with me to many events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinNurse
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Delicious! The crunch layer really does make this cake! I did use prepared frosting, even though some reviewers didn't like it, and I thought it still tasted great. I used lime zest in the frosting because I didn't have any lemons. This one is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This was hit at easter! I put the crunch layer in the middle only. I didn't have the correct ingredients for the frosting so I just added some orange juice and orange zest to some vanilla frosting - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This cake is great with Sour Cream Frosting (also a 5 star) I prefer to leave the crunch side down. Either way, it's a fabulous cake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
The cake and the crunch layers of this cake are delicious and I will make this recipe again. However, I think I will do something different for the icing. The use of canned icing and whipped topping results in something very artificial and waxy tasting to me. I think a whipped cream cheese frosting with the citrus zest would probably be good. Also, I made this in a 9x13 pan instead of layers, turning it out to cool on a wire rack after 15 minutes cooling in the pan and then putting it back in the 9x13 with the crunch layer on top after it was completely cooled. Very tasty and the crunchy nut layer is a prize-winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Not sure where she got the recipe, but mama makes this cake and it's amaaaazing. I don't consider "Fruity desserts" as true DESSERT... to me, it has to be CHOCOLATE!!! So I enjoy this cake anytime, for any reason, for any meal, and think it tastes best cold... but I'm a cold-cake kind of girl. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This cake is absolutely delish. Took cake to office for a party and had a client seek me out to tell me it was the best cake he had ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Big hit here! The crunch layer in this cake really makes it special. My only recommendation is to make this in a 13 X 9 pan rather than 2 layer cakes. I probably rushed the cooling, but the top layer cracked so it wasn't as pretty as it should have been - but the taste is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States