Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
A hit at Easter dinner! But the crunch layer was not at all crunchy, even though I made the cake that day. Did I do something wrong? Still, it was delicious and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Excellent cake. Followed directions except took advice of another reviewer and substituted almonds and cream cheese frosting. A definite addition to my repetoire of cakes. I also used parchment paper....I think it would have stuck to the pan otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. It made my house smell just like blooming orange trees. The cake is perfectly sweet, has just the right amount of orange flavor and is so light you almost think you are not eating bad. I made a few changes to make it a little lower in calories because it is almost a days worth of calories. I used white cake mix and 3 egg whites instead of yellow cake and whole eggs. I also used only 1/2 of the frosting and a little more of the cool whip. Lastly I used 1/3 of the butter and melted it. Thank you for a great cake recipe for any time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the first time I have left a review but I had to share how much everyone loved this recipe! I was looking for something easy for Christmas baking and this was perfect. I added fresh cranberries and cooked them in a muffin pan. They were wonderful no need for icing, I just sprinkled powdered sugar on top. This one will definately be used again! I plan on making it for my coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by settlindown
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe. The original cake is from the Bubble Room in Captiva, FL. There are however, some differences in the recipe that you could try. 1st being....use sliced almonds instead of walnuts for the crunch layer. Walnuts have too much flavor and they have a tendency to over power everything else. 2nd is the frosting.... the Bubble room version has a cream cheese frosting... 1/2 cup softened unsalted butter 8oz softened cream cheese 1 tsp. vanilla 2 cups sifted 10x sugar 1 tsp. orange juice 1/2 tsp grated orange peel. I tend to like a lot of icing.. i think it makes the cake look so much better so i usually double the icing recipe. Other than that.... its a 5 star winner.... hope you will try the changes.. :) by the by... the picture of the 3 layer cake is mine.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
The cake itself was good, but I will cut the crunch layer in half if I make it again. I found it to be much too thick. I made a cream cheese frosting with vanilla, orange, and lemon extracts in it, and the flavors went together quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was great! I loved the crunchy layer and appreciated that I could use this cake to empty out part of my pantry goods! I would like the icing to be a little stiffer so it doesn't run off the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This cake was absolutely delicious and I got so many compliments on it. The only problem was that I made it as a two-layer cake and the top layer cracked (as others have commented). So I would recommend putting the crumb layers together (first layer crumb side up, second layer crumb side down) and freezing it for just a little bit after assembly so it stays together. I also made some extra frosting (added butter, confectioner's sugar, and some orange juice), because I didn't think the frosting made enough. With those changes, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori L.
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made this cake today to test it before taking to a family reunion. I passed it out to neighbors to get a vote and everyone loved it. I used a different recipe for the frosting (Golden Orange Frosting) from this site. Some of us thought the frosting was a little too sugary others loved the frosting. UPDATE: Altered the recipe. Baked in 9x13 pan and used chocolate cake mix. Prepared cake mix according to directions on box. Put a layer of chocolate chips over the batter, about 1.5 cups. Then made the crunchy mix, step 1, and sprinkled over the chocolate chips. Patted down with a spoon and baked for 35-40 minutes. Used Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting, from this site, minus the coconut part. Oh so rich! Get your milk ready! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I've made this twice in the past month. Once for me and my husband. Then again when I had family visiting. Everyone loved it, my brother was surprised it was homemade. I am getting ready to make it yet a third time within a month when I have people over to dinner this weekend. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States