Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I made this for a co-workers birthday and it was absolutely GREAT! I followed the recipe exactly. However, when I make this cake again I will add a box of pudding. The center of the cake split when I turned it over. Will definitely be making this one sooner than later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This looked like a great basic recipe, so I tweaked it for what I wanted (I needed a lemon cake instead). I replaced the graham cracker crumbs and walnuts with ginger snaps and almonds. I used a lemon-flavored cake mix made almost according to directions, but instead of oil I used a single-serving package of lemon-flavored yogurt. I also added a box of instant lemon pudding, although in retrospect I could have probably reduced the amount of yogurt or water and it would have been fine. For the icing I used a cream cheese based icing and whipped it with lemon juice (to taste) and dried grated lemon peel, although lemon zest would have worked as well. What turned out was a cake that was one heck of a hit, with an admonition not to forget how I made it. :) What I really liked was that the cake had a good balance and wasn't overly sweet, although that could be adjusted depending on individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
All I can say is that this cake is fantastic!!!!! The best cake I have ever eaten!! Thanks for sharing I will be making this every holiday and birthdays too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Coffelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Definitely 5 stars!!!!!! Thank you for sharing. The crunch on the bottom will now be the crust for a blueberry cream pie that I make in the summer. I have to confess, I did not have walnuts, I had almonds and WOW!! I made these as cupcakes and they took 18 minutes to bake, perfect. Yum!!!!!!! I frosted with the Pineapple cream cheese frosting on this sute becasue I had some in the fridge, very tasty, but I think the frosting did not matter that cake is to die for......!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I baked this for the memorial day picnic on Sunday. I added an extra egg, to make it dense, and used coconut oil instead of v. oil. I wasn't successful in making it dense. Next time I will use pudding mix, and make it from scratch. As for the the frosting, I made it by scratch by using a cream cheese recipe on this site, added vanilla pudding mix, and "then" added the cool whip / zest. This was the first cake I had that could actually taste the orange before the tasting the frosting. The frosting on the other hand was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made this recipe with scratch cake and with pecans instead of walnuts, and it was the best cake I ever made! I got the scratch cake recipe from this site. It' s really not hard and if you're willing to bake a cake at all you really should do it from scratch. You will be amazed at how easy it is to do and how much better it tastes! Great recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Great cake when looking for something with a new flavor...soft, moist and the crunch part tasted great....used a buttercream frosting. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
In a word-YUM! I made this cake as described but had to leave out the walnuts due to allergies and replaced the 1/2 cup of nuts with an additional 1/2 cup of graham cracker crumbs. Next time I make this, I will try to cut that extra back to 1/4 as the crusty layer was a little too dry and crumbly (so a little tricky to frost). But with some careful spreading, it came out great! I also did not use the frosting recipe provided, but rather opted for my trusty old standby of 1 block cream cheese to 1 stick of butter, vanilla extract and confectioners sugar to taste as I don't like the frosting TOO sweet, and the same amount of zest listed. This is one of the best cakes I've ever made and I've tried a lot over the years. Lots of compliments! YEAH! Everyone's comments/reviews were helpful also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doglover8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Pretty good but not like "The Bubble Room". Too fluffy - the cake's not dense enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
We liked the cake and especially found the crunch layer to be a nice touch. The frosting however didn't taste good to any of us. If I made again I'd use a different frosting recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States