Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
great. used orange cake mix and more rind. check add/view notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I made this for a co-workers birthday and it was absolutely GREAT! I followed the recipe exactly. However, when I make this cake again I will add a box of pudding. The center of the cake split when I turned it over. Will definitely be making this one sooner than later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This looked like a great basic recipe, so I tweaked it for what I wanted (I needed a lemon cake instead). I replaced the graham cracker crumbs and walnuts with ginger snaps and almonds. I used a lemon-flavored cake mix made almost according to directions, but instead of oil I used a single-serving package of lemon-flavored yogurt. I also added a box of instant lemon pudding, although in retrospect I could have probably reduced the amount of yogurt or water and it would have been fine. For the icing I used a cream cheese based icing and whipped it with lemon juice (to taste) and dried grated lemon peel, although lemon zest would have worked as well. What turned out was a cake that was one heck of a hit, with an admonition not to forget how I made it. :) What I really liked was that the cake had a good balance and wasn't overly sweet, although that could be adjusted depending on individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
All I can say is that this cake is fantastic!!!!! The best cake I have ever eaten!! Thanks for sharing I will be making this every holiday and birthdays too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Coffelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Definitely 5 stars!!!!!! Thank you for sharing. The crunch on the bottom will now be the crust for a blueberry cream pie that I make in the summer. I have to confess, I did not have walnuts, I had almonds and WOW!! I made these as cupcakes and they took 18 minutes to bake, perfect. Yum!!!!!!! I frosted with the Pineapple cream cheese frosting on this sute becasue I had some in the fridge, very tasty, but I think the frosting did not matter that cake is to die for......!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I baked this for the memorial day picnic on Sunday. I added an extra egg, to make it dense, and used coconut oil instead of v. oil. I wasn't successful in making it dense. Next time I will use pudding mix, and make it from scratch. As for the the frosting, I made it by scratch by using a cream cheese recipe on this site, added vanilla pudding mix, and "then" added the cool whip / zest. This was the first cake I had that could actually taste the orange before the tasting the frosting. The frosting on the other hand was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made this recipe with scratch cake and with pecans instead of walnuts, and it was the best cake I ever made! I got the scratch cake recipe from this site. It' s really not hard and if you're willing to bake a cake at all you really should do it from scratch. You will be amazed at how easy it is to do and how much better it tastes! Great recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Great cake when looking for something with a new flavor...soft, moist and the crunch part tasted great....used a buttercream frosting. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
In a word-YUM! I made this cake as described but had to leave out the walnuts due to allergies and replaced the 1/2 cup of nuts with an additional 1/2 cup of graham cracker crumbs. Next time I make this, I will try to cut that extra back to 1/4 as the crusty layer was a little too dry and crumbly (so a little tricky to frost). But with some careful spreading, it came out great! I also did not use the frosting recipe provided, but rather opted for my trusty old standby of 1 block cream cheese to 1 stick of butter, vanilla extract and confectioners sugar to taste as I don't like the frosting TOO sweet, and the same amount of zest listed. This is one of the best cakes I've ever made and I've tried a lot over the years. Lots of compliments! YEAH! Everyone's comments/reviews were helpful also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doglover8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Pretty good but not like "The Bubble Room". Too fluffy - the cake's not dense enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States