Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
One of my favorite recipes on this site.... I follow this recipe exactly only substituting crean cheese frosting for the vanilla. I also make sure that the can of frosting is refrigerated a good couple of hours before starting to make the frosting, that way its easier to frost the cake. I also line the round cake pans with parchment paper then, butter and flour the sides of them. It always gets eaten within 2 days! Great Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this great cake (in a RUSH!) to take to a friends dinner party and it was huge hit! I added a teaspoon of orange extract to the batter and substituted the frosting recommendation of settlindown using the buttery creamcheese frosting, to which I also added a t. of orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jwiki02
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I sell this at the Doubletree by Hilton for $8 a slice. It is a huge hit! I added some orange extract and lemon zest to the cake mix to add extra flavor. I iced it with a cream cheese icing flavored with orange and lemon zest, a splash of orange extract and a few drops of sunset orange coloring. Not very crunchy, so i sprinkle browned streusel topping on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jwiki02

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made this for Sunday dinner at a friends house. It was delicious. Very light, but also sweet. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. It is a great recipe for summer. It has to be kept in the fridge due to the Cool Whip, so make sure you have room if you make it beforehand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Followed recipe exactly - cake was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
We loved this cake!! My husband asked me to make an orange cake for his mother's birthday and I had never heard of an orange cake before. I found this recipe and it was phenomenal, definitely one of my newest favorites. The crunch at the bottom is even delicious on other cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This cake was pretty good, although not what I was looking for. I made it a 3 layer cake-- I did 1 1/2 times the amount of crunch layer and used David's Yellow Cake Recipe for the cake. I froze the layers the day before and frosted the cake frozen. I left the crunch layers facing down and had no problems with this or with the cake layer cracking as other reviewers mentioned. The cake did have a nice "light" taste to it. I used a cream cheese frosting recipe from this site as well and the frosting was good, although the orange peel was kind of chewy. Overall the cake was good but just seemed to be lacking something. I might make it again but as a vanilla cake with cream cheese frosting and maybe a raspberry sauce or something like that. The crunch layer was the best part of the cake. But it was for my birthday and just didn't have that "wow" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very nice cake. I actually frosted it with chocolate buttercream because I love orange and chocolate and it disappeared quickly at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
great. used orange cake mix and more rind. check add/view notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States