Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I love the idea of this recipe. The crunch layer is delicious, but I hate using boxed cake. I use the Beat and Bake Orange Cake from this site and together with this crunch layer it is to die for! This is my fancy cake I make for special occasions. I have received countless compliments. Far a wow garnish, I candy some orange peel (blanch peel, then simmer in simple syrup until translucent, let air dry and then toss with sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is an excellent cake when made with a cream cheese frosting. The whipped topping is not to my liking. Use 8 oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 3 T orange peel, 1 T lemon peel, 1 tsp vanilla extract, and 2 cups powdered sugar. Combine all ingredients and beat until fluffy. It goes great with chocolate shavings on top. It is very moist. I make it in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Amazingly good! Tastes just like the cake they serve at the Bubble Room in Captiva, FL. A bit more work than some cakes, but well worth it. Trust me this cake is always a huge hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Will definitely be making this again. The cake and crunch layer were really great. I think next time I will use 1 c. OJ in place of the 1/2c OJ 1/2c water because it would have been better with a little more orange flavor in the cake. The frosting was impossible to work with and just dripped off the cake. I think it would be fab with the cream cheese frosting recipe, as suggested by several other users (1/2 cup softened unsalted butter 8oz softened cream cheese 1 tsp. vanilla 2 cups sifted 10x sugar 1 tsp. orange juice 1/2 tsp grated orange peel.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaQ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Mmmmm. This is a yummy cake. I made as directed and would not change a single thing. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by vszucru
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is my all time favorite cake! I agree with settlindown about the changes to make the Bubble Room version. Until I knew how to make it, I used to make my sister buy me a slice while on her vacation and bring it back to Orlando for me. I use sliced almonds instead of walnuts for the crunch layer and use the cream cheese frosting just as “settlindown” outlined... 1/2 cup softened unsalted butter 8oz softened cream cheese 1 tsp. vanilla 2 cups sifted 10x sugar 1 tsp. orange juice 1/2 tsp grated orange peel. I use 1 ½ times frosting for a two layer and double the frosting for the traditional 3 layer. I also use 1 1/2 times the amount for the crunch layer and pack it firmly with the bottom of a glass. This seems to keep it from crumbling when frosting. I noticed this time I used hand squeezed OJ (Valencia oranges) and the flavor didn't seem as orange. I really like orange and preferred it better when I used the processed OJ but was able to compensate by using a bit more orange peel. Love, love, love this cake!!!! My photo is the one with the sliced almonds around the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is the BEST cake recipe ever! I have had the Orange Crunch Cake from the Bubble Room at Captiva many times and this is quite a bit like it but even BETTER! I made it for the first time yesterday for Thanksgiving and everyone wanted the recipe. The cake at the Bubble Room is either 3 or 4 layers so I made my 3 layers. For the crunch I made 1 1/2 times the recipe. I followed another persons suggestions and used almonds in place of the walnuts. I also made it with the cream cheese frosting. This isn't the exact frosting that the Bubble Room uses but it is so delicious! I might try the vanilla frosting the next time. I also doubled the amount of frosting. I was so thrilled to find almost the exact recipe as the Bubble Room says this is their most popular cake. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Am I the only one that had trouble here? I followed the instructions to prepare the pans before putting in the crunch layer and then the cake. When it was time to invert from the pans, it turned into a disaster!! The crunch layer and about 1/4 of the cake stuck to the pan. I haven't frosted it yet but I'm hoping that when I do, the frosting will hide how horrible it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe, made it for a family get together and it was a big hit. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was good, but next time I'd make it as a coffee cake using the crunch filling in the center of a bundt type cake and drizzling a cream cheese icing on top. Cake had great flavor - I took others' suggestions and added 1 t. orange extract. I used the cream cheese icing from the site which was okay (too sweet for me). This would make good cupcakes too, with the crunch as a filling. I'd make this again, but not as a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States