Orange Cream Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I have made this several times for summer gatherings and always get asked for the recipe. The orange sauce is subtle and doesn't overpower the fruit. I added a small amount of whipped cream to the sauce and that gave it a fluffier texture. The most important thing is to drain the fruit as much as possible so it won't be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
We didn't care for the taste or texture of this fruit salad. You couldn't taste the flavor of the fruit in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Have been making this salad for a while big hit with anyone who eats it. 5 stars as is! I add miniature marshmallows, takes care of the excess sauce. Also add maraschino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
As many others stated the dressing in this recipe, although delicious, is enough to cover more than double the amount of fruit it calls for. I used exactly have of the sour cream & milk the second time which made it less soupy & more creamy. The sliced banana's give this salad a uniquely fresh flavor if added right before serving. Both my husband & kids thought it was delicious!! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was delicious!! The only thing I didn't do was add the orange juice concentrate and that was because I didn't have it..It was still creamy and delicious without it. I also added some cherries and that was great too! My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this for a huge pig roast and it went over great! People were pointing it out for others to try. The only change I made was omitting the bananas. It was cool and refreshing on a hot day. Next time I make it I'm going to try maraschino cherries at my sons request. I have no idea why it would have been bitter (from a previous review) unless some of the fruit was bad. Mine was cool and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keenesburg, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I tried to double the recipe it was not so great it had a bitter taste. I don't know what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulcie Lassiter Holland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
this was a nice recipe. it thickened up perfectly and had a great taste. but the reason for the 4 stars - seemed like much more work where you could just use a peach yogurt or whatever flavor and get the same taste for much less work and calories. but other than that, it is a good recipe and definitely worth a try. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Compliments and it was pretty easy. My advice is drain drain drain that fruit. I also used 1/2 the milk. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
It was really good at first but then left a weird taste in my mouth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States