Orange Cream Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Very good -- I made a few changes due to recipes items on hand. I substituted 1/3 cup frozen lemondade for the orange juice, used 3/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup sour cream and 1 cup Cool Whip. Made a very tangy sauce for the fruit! I used mandarain oranges, pineapple tidbits, strawberries, and bananas. Very yummy! Could be dessert or salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I originally found this recipe on this site in 2007. Today, I logged back in to find it because my copy was covered in food, ick! Any way... I usually make it with white chocolate pudding or cheesecake pudding and it turns out fantastic. I have also been known the change up the fruit in it and it always turns out well. This time, I ran out of sour cream so I used vanilla Greek yogurt and it was tasty too. I like the creamy, tanginess taste that the salad has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Definately worth 5-stars. Followed other reviews & only used 1 cup milk. Also reduced sour cream to 1/2 cup. Added a splash of vanilla extract & maraschino cherries. Can't wait for summer to try fresh fruit & maybe a different juice concentrate. Everybody loved it. Not bad for an old guy that everyone thought lived on fast-food. THANKS LEAGLE !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Confirmed Bachelor
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
it was deeeelicious.... i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was great! I used the pineapple, peaches, mandarin oranges, & banana, but also added coconut and pecans - would have been great with fresh strawberries too, but they're not in season right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
For anyone considering this recipe.. try it! My entire family loves this recipe. It's now a family traditional favorite... Made it again this year... this time I added cinnamon while mixing the pudding... and the last two years I have garnished the top with Pomegranate seeds. Adds festive color and gives it a "pop." left-overs last very well. The pudding doesn't separate like Cool Whip or other whipped creams, and the citric acid in the orange juice prevents the fresh fruits from turning brown. All around an excellent dish! So good it's nearly like a desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was good. Following reviews, I halved the milk and used 1/2 cup sour cream. I used fresh peaches, which were the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
The orange juice concentrate gives this salad such a refreshing flavor. I've found that I get the best results by really draining the canned fruits well - even blotting with a paper towel - prevents it from getting soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I followed the basic idea, but made quite a few substitutions simply because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used lemon sugar free pudding, since that was on hand. I reduced the milk to 3/4 cup, and used 1/2 cup of liquid from the canned mandarin oranges instead of the o.j. concentrate. I used 1/2 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. I used 1 1/2 cups of frozen peaches, the canned pineapple tidbits, the canned mandarin oranges, and the bananas. I omitted the apples. I added 1/2 cup of drained maraschino cherries (no stems) for a pop of color. Mine was more of a lemon cream salad, but the basic idea is the same. Great recipe, easy to follow and easy to make substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Really tasty and light. Mine ended up a little soupy so I folded in some whipped cream to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States