Orange Cream Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Great salad. I brought it to my grandson's graduation party on Saturday and everyone loved it. I had several people ask me for the recipe. I used only 1 cup of milk, sugar free pudding and left out the bananas (because I hate bananas), added some strawberries and red grapes. It was wonderful and not too runny. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This salad is out of this world! If you have not tried it yet, you definitely should! It is so yummy!!! Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
WONDERFUL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I didn't have any problem with this being too runny. Reduced the milk to 1 cup and added a dibble of vanilla, and a drop or two of orange extract to the dressing. I soaked the apples and bananas for 10 minutes each in the pineapple juice (a trick I learned on this site) to keep them from turning brown. I also added a 16 oz bag of frozen, pitted cherries, thawed, for color. I can't imagine why anyone would think this had cheese in it, the color is a very mild, pretty orange. Very good fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This is a sweet and delicious fruit salad. I like it very much, but it didn't really have the wow factor for me, and it also has a bit of an issue with being runny. I reduced the milk to 1 cup and drained the canned fruit for a while before mixing the ingredients together, and that kept it from getting too runny for a day or two. But since I made this for just myself, it took me about four days to eat it, and it was extremely soupy by the time I finished it off. If I make it for family (which is likely), I'll probably keep the pudding mixture separate from the salad and let people add it to their salad as they like. That's mainly because some of my family is lactose-intolerant, but it also allows people more freedom in choosing the amount of topping that's right for them, and any leftover fruit can be drained later without ruining the salad. I substituted a pint of fresh strawberries for the mandarin oranges, but I don't think the kind of fruit used really matters in this recipe. The dressing would be great just as a dip for apples or any other fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
this was pretty good, i think i might have added a little too much OJ, but still tasty. i used fresh strawberries, blueberries, grapes, canned mandarin oranges, pineapple tidbits and...i think that's it. it was pretty popular, though i did have a little leftover - which was AOK with me! i did, like others, let the fruit drain overnight. i also bought the big (5 oz?) box of pudding by accident, but i ended up using about 3/4 of it to thicken up the dressing - that way if there was any liquid left in the fruit the salad wouldn't get runny. worked PERFECTLY! thanks a ton for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This has great flavor. I took it to a pot luck and got asked for the recipe by several people. The only thing is, I wish I had read the other comments about this salad. It's really soupy. Yes, I drained the fruit, but I think next time I'll drain it overnight. And maybe cut back on the milk a little. BUT, try it, try it. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This is a simply divine variation on fruit salad. The OJ gives it a nice tangy quality. Skim milk and low or no fat sour cream can be used and no one will be any the wiser. Fresh pineapple and orange sections can also be used. I add about 25-30 red grapes, sliced in half because there is plenty of dressing. Do not peel the skin on a red apple to add color. I am ALWAYS asked for this recipe when I bring it to social events. Great for a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States