Orange Cream Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This fruit salad is the BEST ever! A lot of the reviews said it was runny or didn't turn out. I took suggestions from other reviewers and found exactly what you need to do for a great fruit salad. Reduce the milk to 1 cup. Make the orange dressing the night before and refrigerate it. This allows it to set up well. Drain the peaches, pineapples, and oranges overnight...but save the pineapple and orange juice. Slice the bananas and soak them in the pineapple juice overnight. Slice the apples and soak them in the orange juice overnight. Drain the bananas and apples, mix with other fruit and orange dressing. I like to refrigerate it for a few hours so all the fruit is cold and the salad is mixed well, then serve. Turns out perfect every time! I've received nothing but great compliments for this fruit salad and will continue to make it for brunches and potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
My daughter found this recipe and asked me to make it. I made this fruit salad for our faculty cookout; I did not take any of it home. Rachel was sad, so I made another salad for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
We all love this recipe! The kids are always exited to make this. I drain the fruit really well and only use about half of the sauce so it's a little thicker. We like to add half a bag of shredded coconut and marichino cherries. Sometimes I use the marichino cherry juice instead of orange juice just to mix things up now and then. No matter what, this is a great recipe just as is. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicyAK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I loved this salad! I didn't change a thing! It got rave reviews for our thanksgiving dinnner! Thank-you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Loved it! The apples added the perfect "crunch" to the otherwise soft fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
WoW! This was terrific! No matter what you do to suit your personal preference (I skipped the bananas, added marshmallows and used less sour cream), but I'm sure it'll turn out great. I drained my fruit as well for a couple hours prior to adding the dressing. , this was good! Going to eat more right now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I was SO excited about this recipe by all of the good reviews and my love for orange cream flavors....boy did I get LET DOWN! Mine was just a big bowl filled with water and disappointment! I looked over the recipe twice to make sure that I covered all my bases, maybe I mixed something up - NOPE! Don't waste your time and tastebuds like me just make a regular ambrosia salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This salad was fabulous! The orange juice added a delicate taste of citrus that my family just loved! I added fresh red grapes and mini marshmallows. This is a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made this out of town and it needed some more flavor so I added more fruit.. Its good if your not into sweet stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
As suggested by other reviewers, I only made 1/3 of the sauce, using half yogurt and half sour cream instead of all sour cream. I found that I had to throw almost half of this away. In the future I'll make much less sauce. I also added some strawberries -- though you could use cherries, too -- which improved the color. Made it for a Halloween party for 20 and it was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehunter474

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rolling Prairie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States