Orange Cream Cookie Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Don't give up on this recipe! I made a test batch and produced rock-hard nuggets that were just awful, but promising. I read the reviwers' comments, made some adjustments and now have a pretty darn nice cookie: bake at 350F, add 2 to 4 tablespoons more flour and use 2 eggs. The resulting cookies are chewy and quite dreamsicle-y. They were a hit with all those who tasted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I was very hesitant to try this recipe because of the mixed reviews, but it sounded so delicious that I gave it a try. With a few changes to the original recipe--2 cups of flour, 2 eggs, and only 1/3 cup of Tang--it's a real winner! I can only imagine, however, how terrible they would be without these changes. I made 6 dozen of these for a company cookie exchange, and everyone loved them, so they appeal to a lot of people. They are a welcomed changed from the typical cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRAMBUESA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
It's been a while since I've had GOOD cookies, but these definitely qualified as such. I changed the recipe a little bit...used 2 eggs, 2 cups of flour, 1/4 t salt and white chocolate chips, and these came out SO GOOD. The flavor is great, and if you're a cookie dough fiend, the dough is fantastic. I used my small Pampered Chef cookie scoop and got 75 two bite cookies out of this recipe. They look great and they taste awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This recipe was very good. I used the tip to add an extra egg and 3 more table spoons of flour. The first batch I made was without the extra egg and flour and it was awful but they tasted good so I used the tip. I think these would be such a cute idea for HALLOWEEN if you took like black frosting and put it in a pastry bag and like made a jack-o-lantern face on them. Would definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
General consensus was that the recipe was too sweet, but we cut back to 1/3 cup on the Tang and it got rave reviews. Tried it both with white chocolate and chocolate chips and they're good either way. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
These will turn out all right if you make the changes everyone has suggested. Just a note to everyone who cannot find Tang...do NOT use orange kool-aid in its place. Kool-aid and Tang are not the same thing and will produce very different results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
My husband and I received a jar of this cookie mix as a gift for Easter. I LOVE baking and make cookies all the time so was excited to try these out... You need to add water or milk or some liquid to the "dough" to be able to use it, and when it was done baking I had a yucky cookie sheet of orange flat blobs. They tasted awful, and I enjoy a traditional creamsicle, so something was definetly off. Please don't make these for people! The only good thing about this recipe was the smell of it baking if the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
My family loved these cookies! What a great change from the usual chocolate chip, etc. I wasn't able to find vanilla chips in my area, so I used chopped up white chocolate discs that you use for making candies. I found the cookies took only 8 minutes to bake - possibly because I substituted the white chocolate candy for vanilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUTRELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I actually got 29 cookies from the recipe. I also made the changes that were suggested. I used 2 eggs, 2 cups of flour. The cookie dough took some elbow work to get it all mixed together. However, the cookies turned out nice. My 4 year old, isn't to fond of them. Everyone else seems to enjoy them. I also had to cut down the baking time to about 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I live in New Zealand and we can't get vanilla chips or Tang. So I replaced with Choc chips and made a Jaffa cookie!! Having lived in US I knew what Tang was and replaced with similar item here. All the kids loved it!! General adult comment was it was too rich. Next time will cut down the amount of orange drink flavour. But an overall winner with the Kiwi's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReMcx

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States