Orange Cream Cookie Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I used other review's suggestions, so it's only partially the original recipe. 2 eggs, 2 cups flour, a little extra vanilla, 2/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup Tang. The dough did really look dry and I literally hand mixed them...kneading it, to make sure everything was well distributed. With enough white chocolate chips to balance the really sweet batter a bit, I get the Dreamsicle flavor. The first bite is really sweet and there's a bit of an aftertaste...that artificiaI chemically taste. But Dreamsicles never tasted like natural oranges. I read several reviews saying to underbake them, but at 10 minutes on airbake pans, they were still mostly batter in the middle. But then I left them a little too long and got crispy instead of chewy. The texture looked funny, too. Kinda bubbly or maybe pitted. That could have been something I did wrong! They were nice and orange colored, though. Not sure I like them enough to make another attempt, but they were fun to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I needed a different recipe for cookie in a jar gift. Decided to make a 1/2 batch after reading mixed reviews. I didn't have Tang so I used 1 pkg. of unsweetened Kool-Aid., 1/2c. sugar, 4T. butter, 1/2c. vanilla chips, 1 egg, 3/4c. flour, 1/4t. baking powder, 1/4t.baking soda and a pinch of salt. Delicious!! One reviewer said not to use Kool-Aid but tried it anyway and they tasted great! I will definitely make these again. I did not roll them into balls. Just used a cookie scoop. I may try a sprinkle of sugar on top next time. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These look great in the jar as gifts, but I make the recipe often just for the family. They are my Dad's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birch Run, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Definitely a keeper!! I also used 2 eggs, 2 cups of flour and 1/3 c. orange drink as suggested by others. Also DO NOT bake for 10-12 minutes! I used this recipe to break in my brand new oven and they were perfect when baked for only 8 minutes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikishep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
OMG! Best cookie ever! Tastes just like a dreamsickle:) Some of the tips are almost right, but not quite. First let me say I live not much above sea level, and elevation may be part of peoples issues. Leave the tang at 1/2 cup. Just make it 1 tsp of baking soda...absolutely no need for baking powder. Double the vanilla. At least 3 cups of flour not two. The dough for this cookie should be the same consistancy as for chocolate chip cookies. If it's raining or the humidity is really high...you may need a bit more. The only extra ingredient I added was a cup of dark brown sugar. I did use two eggs. Wonderful cookie. One other tip...at my grocery store, tang is NOT found with the other dry drink mixes like countrytime lemonade. Take a look on your bottled juice aisle. It will probably be on a top shelf. This isn't a product people buy everyday, but has a wonderful taste for the cookies. I baked at 350 for 12 minutes, and let them rest on the pan for about a minute before I moved them to let them cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I did as the other reviewers suggested and changed things up a bit. I used 2 eggs, 2 C flour, and 1/3 C Tang. I baked them on 350 for 12 mins. I ended up with 3 dozen smallish cookies. They were absolutely fabulous with the changes I made. I am going to give these as Christmas gifts with the Christmas Orange book. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
These cookies were so good I wanted to run off to Massachusetts and marry them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
it made my kitchen smell great!! but it tasted like sour milk.. it was probably my fault though cuz i used a diffrent drink mix instead of tang... i used an orange strawberry mix..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I added 2 cups of flour and 1/3 cup of Tang. I think I could have added less Tang. I'm not sure about this recipe. I also added 2 eggs like everyone else. The cookies did not turn out the way I would have hoped. I will try again maybe with less Tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I used tang per reviews, I thought they were way to sweet! and the vanilla chips were overkill. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarnspice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States