Orange Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Delicious frosting! I found the texture to be perfect for the citrus cake I made recently. I think if it is turning out too runny for you, the most likely culprit is butter and/or cream cheese that you either a) melted or softened too much in the microwave, or b) you allowed it to get too warm on the counter and it went from soft to almost melted. Next time, try letting it sit out until JUST slightly softened. I think you will be much happier with the results. Loved this frosting!! I have made it several times now, and my favorite tweak is to add 1 tablespoon orange juice concentrate in place of the 2 tbls. orange juice. Really adds a punch when you want a stronger orange flavor. I also add a bit more zest and usually leave out the walnuts - just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was just what I was looking for to put on my ginger spice mini cupcakes. I only needed two cups of the powdered sugar. Also, I did have to let the icing sit but a few minutes. No problems with running or setting. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is definitely more like an icing. I tried cutting back the orange juice in 1/2 and added extra cream cheese, butter, and powdered sugar, and its still running. The taste is good, just not ideal for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I have a theory of why some of the reviews said it came out runny: I just moved to a tropical island and I am used to putting my cream cheese and butter out to soften but I'm not used to it being this warm and I think I let it get too soft so it came out thin. I added food coloring and ended up with a nice bright orange frosting on my orange cake. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Deicious with carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Pretty good. Didn't use the walnuts as I put this on a orange cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
GOOD frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
A wonderful zesty orange flavor that was excellent on my Carrot Cake cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Excellent with pumpkin roll out cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Carlisle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairview, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
way too sweet. its quick and easy but its rare that my kids wont eat the icing first and none of them would eat it. i used it to top muffins so it may be better on the suggested carrot walnut cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States