Orange Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
The flavor of this icing was quite good - the orange really adds a nice zip. However, it's quite thin. It's not the consistency I was hoping for when I think of cream cheese frosting. I added some more cream cheese, and that helped. Just keep in mind that this is very sugary - not butter or cheese based like many. It would definitely be great for icing cinnamon rolls or drizzing over a bundt cake..but the texture just didn't work well for frosting an entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This turned out good in the end, but needed a little tweaking. I followed the recipe, but stopped at 2 cups of sugar and 1 tbsp of orange juice. At that point, it was plenty sweet enough and adding the rest of the juice would have made it too runny. It still needed more flavoring though, so I added another 1/2 teaspoon of zest. The yield was substantially shy of 3 cups, and I can't see leaving out the 1/2 cup of sugar affecting that outcome. Good to know if you are expecting or needing the full yield. I would make this again, but may try increasing the cream cheese and using orange juice concentrate instead of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful
Photo by LolitaGDL
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I give 4 starts to this recipe due to don't need the 2 cups & a half of confectioners sugar only 1 cup & a half, and need 1/4 butter, I cover a layer orange cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolitaGDL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Simply perfect for Carolyn's Orange Rolls, from this website, and the orange zest was wonderful! I left out the nuts and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla; other than that, the recipe was perfect for me. I will use this on other desserts and will try it with nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
did all but the walnuts and used it on pumpkin ginger muffins.... and a little on a cinamon raisin bagle - both yuuuumy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I like that this calls for fresh juice and zest and not extract, which can sometimes completely overwhelm white frostings. Like other reviewers, I found it lacking some in the orangey department, but nothing that a little extra zest didn't remedy. The walnuts add a welcome crunch, too, especially on pumpkin spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I dyed it orange =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great recipe! I gave it 4 stars because I had to change a lot, but with my changes I'd give it 5 stars! I doubled the cream cheese and the orange zest, halved the orange juice and also added an extra cup of confectionery sugar because it was too runny (probably because of the extra cream cheese). We will definitely make this again! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Very good. Didn't have orange zest so I added some orange marmalade. Everyone loved it. Put it on Carrot Bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2000
This icing is simple to make and tastes great on Carrot cookies or Carrot cake. The grated orange really comes through, so you may want to use less orange rind if you prefer. Good icing all round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States